Google to now allow you to Auto-Delete Location History, Activity Data

Google is now rolling out auto-delete controls for your activity data and location history. it is giving users greater control over how long the company holds on to location history and activity data.

In a blog about the feature, Marlo McGriff and David Monsees, Product Managers at Google, explained:

“You can already use your Google Account to access simple on/off controls for Location History and Web & App Activity, and if you choose – to delete all or part of that data manually. In addition to these options, we’re announcing auto-delete controls that make it even easier to manage your data.”

“You should always be able to manage your data in a way that works best for you,  and we’re committed to giving you the best controls to make that happen.”

The new controls allow users to choose a time limit for how long they want to keep their activity data – either three or eight months.  With these settings enabled, Google will regularly clear out your data at the three-month mark or the 18-month mark.

Using the “My Activity” page associated with Google accounts, users have long been able to view and delete information on the places they frequently visit, websites they visit, and apps they use on their smartphones, along with the minute-by-minute time stamps the company records for those activities.

They could also choose to switch this data collection off entirely, which limits certain personalized offerings on apps such as Google Maps and Google Assistant.

Google says the new controls for Location History and Web & App Activity will be rolling out “in the coming weeks,” and has suggested the auto-delete functionality will be coming to additional features in the future.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here