Twenty-Nine MPs elected ‘unopposed’ to Parliamentary Standing Committee on Estimates

Twenty-Nine MPs had on Thursday elected ‘unopposed’ to the 30-member committee on Estimates after only 29 members filed their nominations. Earlier 31 nominations were filed for the committee, however, 2 members withdrew their nominations last moment.

A State released by the Parliamentary Committee Branch stated, ‘In connection with the election of thirty members to the Committee on Estimates Motion in respect of which was adopted by the House on June, 24, 2019, thirty-one nominations were received up to the last date and time fixed for the purpose. Subsequently, two candidates withdrew their candidatures…the number of remaining candidates, thus, being less than the number of members to be elected, the 29 members have been declared as duly elected to serves as members of the Committee’.

Lok Sabha MP Danish Ali, Dayanidhi Maran, KC Patel, PP Choudhary, Rajeev Pratap Rudy, Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore, Parvesh Verma, Dilip Ghosh, Kamlesh Paswan are among those elected to the Committee on Estimates.

The Parliament has three financial standing committees including the Public Accounts Committee (PAC), Estimates Committee (EC) and Committee on Public Undertakings (COPU).

The tenure of the newly elected Committee on Estimates will end on April 30, 2020.

Earlier on Tuesday, Indian National Congress proposed the name of West Bengal MP Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury for the chairmanship of Public Accounts Committee (PAC) of Parliament.

‘Congress party has proposed the name of Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury for the post of Chairman of PAC (Public Accounts Committee)’, reported ANI on Tuesday.

As per the tradition, the post of PAC of the parliament goes to the main opposition party. The Indian National Congress, with 52 MPs, is the second-largest party in the Lok Sabha.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here