BJP-led NDA MPs to meet today; to formally elect Narendra Modi as its ‘Leader’

Must Read

Howdy, Modi! : World media reactions on Modi-Trump’ grand Houston Event address

New Delhi, Sep 23: United States President Donald Trump and Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi on late Sunday shared...

Howdy Modi : Modi-Trump mark history in US-India relationship with great show at Houston

Houston, Sep 22:  Modi, delivering his speech at the historic event, talks about the development underwent over five years...

ECI announces dates of Maharashtra & Haryana elections; Single Phase Election on October 21; Result on 24th

Election Commission of India has announced the dates of much-awaited state elections. According to the Chief Election Commissioner, Sunil...
Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) will meet today to formally elect Prime Minister Narendra Modi as its Leader. The meeting is slated to held at the Central Hall of Parliament at 5 pm. Followed the meeting, PM Modi is likely to meet President Ram Nath Kovind to stake claim to form a new government.

Narendra Modi is expected to take oath as a Prime Minister for the second term on May 30th. However, the official announcement for the date is yet to be made.

Earlier on Thursday, Prime Minister Narendra Modi chaired the Union Cabinet Meet and adopted a resolution for the dissolution of 16th Lok Sabha. The Union Cabinet also set in the motion for the formation of new Lok Sabha and the formation of a new government after the national elections are concluded on Thursday.

The Bharatiya Janata Party in the latest polls has secured 303 seats, 22 more than it got in the 2014 elections. BJP along with its allies, the NDA took it’s tally up to 352 seats in the recently concluded Lok Sabha elections. In Uttar Pradesh, BJP along with its ally Apna Dal (S) won 64 Lok Sabha Seats.

While in states like Rajasthan, Haryana, Delhi, Gujarat, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand party bagged all the seats of states. BJP in Maharashtra, Chattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Jharkhand, Jammu and Kashmir, also totally limited the opposition in two-three seats.

BJP in the latest polls also managed to make inroads in states like West Bengal and Odisha – the strongholds of TMC and BJD respectively. Party’s in the Mamata Banerjee‘s bastion made a big dent and secure victory on 18 seats while 8 seats bagged by the party in Naveen Patnaik‘s bastion.

While Congress continued its poor performance and only managed to improve its tally marginally by 8 to reach 52 seats across all 542 in the 2019 national polls.


Lok Sabha Elections 2019 [Live Results]: State-wise list of winning candidates on all 542 Candidates


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest News

Trump lauds relations with Italy, Rome seeks trade dialogue (Lead)

Washington, Oct 16 (IANS/AKI) Ties between Italy and the US "have never been so good", US President Donald Trump...

Libyan conflict risks destabilising Africa: Italy

Washington, Oct 16 (IANS/AKI) The protracted conflict in Libya could destabilise the whole of Africa, Italian President Sergio Mattarella said on Wednesday after talks...

Good friends buy Pakistan four months to ‘eliminate’ terror financing – But can it?

New Delhi, Oct 16 (IANS) With all-weather friend China heading the FATF, and backed by two other "brotherly countries" of Malaysia and Turkey, Pakistan...

Telcos passing off wirelines as mobile numbers to evade charges: Jio

New Delhi, Oct 16 (IANS) Reliance Jio has alleged incumbents, including state-run BSNL, Bharti Airtel and Vodafone Idea, have fraudulently masquerading wireline numbers as...

Vice President watches ‘Sye Raa…’ with Chiranjeevi

Hyderabad/ New Delhi, Oct 16 (IANS) Vice President M. Venkaiah Naidu on Wednesday watched Telugu movie "Sye Raa Narasimha Reddy" along with its lead...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This