CM Manohar Lal Khattar holds meeting with senior ministers to discuss reasons for party’s loss in state polls

BJP released its fourth list of candidates for Rajasthan Assembly elections on Sunday

Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar convened a meeting in Chandigarh on Friday to discuss the reasons for BJP’s loss in the recently concluded polls.

Bhartiya Janta Party won on 40 seats in the polls when it has given a call for winning on 75 plus seats on the state. In this regard, the saffron party suffered an embarrassing setback. Previously in the 2014 Haryana elections, the saffron party won on 47 seats, and now the party was brought down to just 40 seats.

The meeting also saw the participation of those ministers who failed to secure victory in the second term. It was found that a total of 8 ministers out of 10 in the state failed to retain their seats. Ram Bilas Sharma, Capt Abhimanyu, Om Prakash Dhankar, Kavita Jain, Krishan Lal Panwar, Manish Kumar Grover, Krishan Kumar Bedi, and Karan Dev Kamboj were the ministers who lost the polls.

Anil Vij and Banwari Lal were the only two ministers who managed to hold on to their respective seats.

Apprising the media bout the minutes of the meeting, BJP leader Krishan Kumar Bedi said that the party discussed the reasons for the losses. The defeat of ministers was also discussed thoroughly.

Bhartiya Janta Party secured victory 40 seats. However, BJP allied with Dushyant Chautala-led JJP which won on 10 seats in the state. The saffron party also received the support of a few independent candidates who won few seats. Congress won 31 seats while Indian National Lok Dal won on 2 seats.

ALSO READ: Haryana Congress calls on Sonia Gandhi to elect new leader of legislative party in state


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here