The Indian Wire » News » Congress party appoints five party functionaries as District Congress President in Karnataka
News Politics

Congress party appoints five party functionaries as District Congress President in Karnataka

Ahead of the by-elections on 15 Assembly constituencies in the Karnataka, Congress party cleared the name of five party’s functionaries as District Congress President in Karnataka state on Monday.


According to the official press released by the grand old party, the following individuals have been appointed as District Congress president from respective areas.

  1. SG Nanjaina MathBagalkot
  2. HR AlgurBijapur
  3. Amshumanth KPChikmagalur
  4. MK TajpeerChitradurga
  5. BV NaikRaichur

The latest appointments come days after Congress leader SR Patil met the party president, Sonia Gandhi at her residence in the national capital. The meeting between the two leaders also saw the presence of MC Venugopal. It can be seen that the party is gearing up for the upcoming by-polls in the state.

Previously on October 9, Congress party had appointed former chief minister Siddaramaiah as the Leader of Opposition (LoP) in the Legislative Assembly. SR Patil was appointed as the Leader of Opposition (LoP ) in the Legislative Council of the state.

Responding to his elevation, former Chief Minister Siddaramaiah expressed his happiness and thanked the interim president Sonia Gandhi through a tweeted message. The leader promised to strengthen the party.

ALSO READ: Chandrababu Naidu’s TDP suffers another setback; leader Adinarayana Reddy joins Bhartiya Janta Party

About the author

Saurabh Parmar

Digital Journalist (Specializing in Indian affairs & Contemporary Political development)

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!