Congress releases fourth list of Candidates in Madhya Pradesh; fields CM Chouhan’s Brother-in Law from Waraseoni


The Congress Party released its fourth list of candidates for the forthcoming MP assembly elections on Wednesday. The fourth list consists of 29 names including current CM’s brother-in-law, Sanjay SInngh Masani. The total candidature from Congress party till now is 213 and the party is likely to announce its fifth list shortly.

CM’s brother-in-law, Masani had joined the Congress party last week. He has been fielded from Waraseoni in Balaghat district. Masani, who has also done quite a few roles in Bollywood, had joined the Congress on Saturday in the presence of former union minister and Madhya Pradesh Congress president Kamal Nath and the state’s campaign committee chairman Jyotiraditya Scindia.

Although Congress might be joyous with this development, the BJP claims it is not going to affect the party in any way. “The Congress might feel happy, but it will have no impact on the party. It might be news for the media, it is not for us,” party spokesperson Rajneesh Agrawal had said then. He further said that Masani also has no political background.

Two of its candidates have also been replaced in the new list. Some of the other candidates that the Congress has fielded are Ramesh Dubey from Bhind, Pravin Pathak from Gwalior South, Preeti Agnihotri from Indore-1, and Surjeet Singh Chadda from Indore-4.

Currently the Congress has 57 MLAs in the assembly. BJP is in power in the state since 2003. Elections for Madhya Pradesh assembly will be held on November 28 and the results will be announced on December 11.

The name of the candidates and their respective constituencies are as follows:

  1. Bhind- Ramessh Dubey
  2. Gohad(SC)- Ranvir Jatav
  3. Gwalior South- Pravin Pathak
  4. Damoh- Rahul Singh Lodhi
  5. Hatta(SC)- Harishankar Choudhary
  6. Bandhavgarh(ST)- Dr. Dhyan Singh Parste
  7. Jabalpur Purba(SC)-Lakhan Ghanghoria
  8. Niwas(ST)- Ashok Maskole
  9. Balaghat- Vishveshwar Bhagat
  10. Waraseoni- Sanjay Singh Mesani
  11. Katangi- Tamlal Sahare
  12. Sironj- Smt. Masharat Shaheed( in place of Ashok Tyagi)
  13. Shujalpur- Ramveer Sikarwar
  14. Khandwa(SC)- Kundan Malviya
  15. Pandhana(ST)- Smt. Chhaya More
  16. Burhanpur- Ravindra Mahajan (in place of Hamid Kazi)
  17. Khargone- Ravi Joshi
  18. Pansemal(ST)- Smt. Chandrabhaga Kirare
  19. Depalpur- Vishal Patel
  20. Indore-1 – Ms Preeti Agnihotri
  21. Indore-4 – Surjeet Singh Chadda
  22. Mahidpur- Sardar Singh Chouhan
  23. Ujjain Uttar- Rajendra Bharti
  24. Ujjain Dakshin- Rajendra Vasistha
  25. Ratlam City- Smt. Premlata Dave
  26. Alot (SC)- Manoj Chawla
  27. Mandsour- Narendra Nahata
  28. Malhargarh (SC)- Parasuram Sisodia


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here