EC curtails campaigning in WB after mass violence in Kolkata ahead of the final phase of Lok Sabha polls

Must Read

Sanju Samson to replace Shikhar Dhawan in T20 series against WI

Sanju Samson will replace injured Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan in the T20s series against West Indies starting from next...

Supreme Court lashes out on Centre & Delhi govts for Rising Pollution

The Apex Court of the Country, the Supreme Court on Monday lashed the Central and State Government for their...

Harbhajan Singh wishes BCCI Prez Sourav Ganguly to change Selection Panel

The Indian off-spinner Harbhajan Singh on Monday urged Sourav Ganguly, President of BCCI (The Board of Control for Cricket...

The Election Commission of India (ECI) first time in India’s electoral history took unprecedented steps by invoking article 324 of the constitution to curtail canvassing in West Bengal ahead of the poll-related violence between Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Trinamool Congress (TMC) workers in Kolkata.

The Election Commission removed two senior state officials in West Bengal- the Principal Secretary (Home) Atri Bhattacharya and Additional Director General, CID, Rajeev Kumar.

Campaigning is withdrawn from the nine constituencies of West Bengal including the Dum Dum, Barasat, Basirhat, Mathurapur, Jadavpur, North Kolkata, South Kolkata, Diamond Harbour, and Jaynagar.

Both BJP and TMC are ready to embark a hectic campaigning schedule on Thursday canvassing for nine parliamentary constituencies and will end the campaigning at 10 pm.

Deputy Election Commissioner said that the EC is deeply anguished at the vandalism to the statue of Vidyasagar. It is hoped that the vandals are traced by the state administration.

After the massive violence and a huge law and order crisis in Kolkata amidst the roadshow of Amit Shah, where TMC workers and BJP leaders clashed with each other leading to the destruction of property and violence, both the parties alleged each other for the outcome of Election Commission. The Akhil Bharatiya Vidya Parishad (ABVP) members clashed with the Trinamool Congress Chhatra Parishad (TMCP) supporters at a college street.

TMC chief Mamata Banerjee accused the Election Commission and said that she has never seen an EC that was so biased and full of RSS people. The incident drew criticism for political leaders in the wake of mass violence related to polls.

West Bengal has witnessed polling in all six phases. The seventh and last phase of elections will be held on May 19. The results will be announced on May 23.


Non-bailable offence against UDF candidate K Sudhakaran for sexist remarks on women

Chattisgarh Assembly Polls: Ajit Jogi will focus on campaigning alone, won’t contest from any constituency

Lok Sabha Polls: EC orders re-polling at Faridabad booth after polling agent caught ‘influencing’ voters


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest News

Riot launches a Riot Forge to help third party developers create more games for League of Legends Universe

League of Legends completed 10 years this October. The game was launched in 2009 by Riot games. League of...

CM Yogi Adityanath: Unnao Case Will Be Fast-Tracked

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath expressed grief over the death of Unnao rape victim and assured the case will be tried in a...

Student exam boycott gets support from JNU Teachers’ Association

Following Jawaharlal Nehru University Students' Union (JNUSU) boycott of the end-semester exams scheduled from December 12 on Wednesday, to protest against the hostel fee...

Bigg Boss 13 episode 48, written update, December 6: Rashami gets hurt during the task

The recent episode of Bigg Boss 13 begins with Asim confessing his love Himanshi. Asim genuinely loves Himanshi, but he knows that she's committed...

Delhi schools to impart education on Menstrual Hygiene: Delhi Government to HC

A period is considered a 'Taboo' in the country where girls are prevented from going to the school and behaved differently. To tackle such...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This