Election of Puducherry Assembly speaker slated for June 3, Kiran Bedi calls Assembly meet

Must Read

Sanju Samson to replace Shikhar Dhawan in T20 series against WI

Sanju Samson will replace injured Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan in the T20s series against West Indies starting from next...

Supreme Court lashes out on Centre & Delhi govts for Rising Pollution

The Apex Court of the Country, the Supreme Court on Monday lashed the Central and State Government for their...

Harbhajan Singh wishes BCCI Prez Sourav Ganguly to change Selection Panel

The Indian off-spinner Harbhajan Singh on Monday urged Sourav Ganguly, President of BCCI (The Board of Control for Cricket...
Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

Puducherry Assembly will elect its new Speaker on June 3, a date fixed by Lieutenant Governor Kiran Bedi. Bedi, the Lieutenant Governor also summed the Puducherry Assembly to hold meet at Assembly on Monday at 9:30 where the election of New Speaker will be held.

In a press statement issued on May 31, Friday, A Vincent Rayar, Secretary of Legislative Assembly Secretariat stated informed the date of the election to the post of Assembly Speaker.

Necessary notice regarding filing of nomination has been sent to all Members
individually, the statement added as quoted by ANI.

Currently, Deputy Speaker V P Sivakolundhu is serving as the officiating Speaker of the House.

The reelection to the post was necessitated after the sitting Speaker V Vaithilingam of Congress resigned on March 21 to contest Lok Sabha Polls from the lone seat of Puducherry. Vaithilingam of Indian National Congress, a part of DMK Alliance defeated K. Narayanasamy of the All India NR Congress with over 1.96 Lakh votes. NR Congress was a part of AIADMK and BJP Alliance.

In a 33-member Assembly, Congress is heading the government with DMK with 18 MLAs while AIADMK has 4, All India NR Congress has 7 legislators and Independent 1. Three members out of 33 are nominated.

Pradesh Congress Committee is consulting all legislators to finalize the name of next Speaker of the House. While Byelection is also necessitated to Kamaraj Nagar seat, which  Vaithilingam represented.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest News

Disney to make a spin-off of ‘Aladdin’ character Prince Anders

The Walt Disney Studio is developing a spin-off from one of its live-action remakes, marking it for the first...

President Kovind: Judicial process beyond reach of poor

President Ram Nath Kovind on Saturday, showing his concern over certain section of people's access to justice, said that the judicial process has gone...

Facebook is testing screen sharing over video call in Facebook Messenger

Screen Recording can be really life-saving when there is a video that can not be shared. You just have to start the screen recording...

Rajkummar Rao and Nushrat Bharucha starrer ‘Turram Khan’ renamed as ‘Chhalaang’

Turram Khan, the upcoming film of actor Rajkummar Rao, has been renamed as Chhalaang. The film stars actor Nushrat Bharucha as the female lead...

WhatsApp adds Call waiting feature for Android in the its latest update

WhatsApp is regularly receiving updates, the company is always working on new features. In the most recent update, the Facebook-owned instant messaging platform got...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This