Government of India appoints various parliamentary committees

Must Read

Howdy, Modi! : World media reactions on Modi-Trump’ grand Houston Event address

New Delhi, Sep 23: United States President Donald Trump and Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi on late Sunday shared...

Howdy Modi : Modi-Trump mark history in US-India relationship with great show at Houston

Houston, Sep 22:  Modi, delivering his speech at the historic event, talks about the development underwent over five years...

ECI announces dates of Maharashtra & Haryana elections; Single Phase Election on October 21; Result on 24th

Election Commission of India has announced the dates of much-awaited state elections. According to the Chief Election Commissioner, Sunil...
Saurabh Parmar
Digital Journalist (Specializing in Indian affairs & Contemporary Political development). A Writer by Profession. Administration Enthusiast by Passion. Altruist by Heart. That's enough about Me!

After the heavy criticisms from the opposition parties over the delay in the formation of parliamentary committees, Government of India has constituted various parliamentary standing committees for this year.

List of Major appointments in these parliamentary committees-

Bhartiya Janta Party leader Radha Mohan Singh has been appointed as the Chairperson of the Parliamentary Committee on Railways. Farooq Abdullah, BJP’s Pragya Singh Thakur are also the appointed members on this committee.

Rakesh Singh has been made the Chairperson of Committee on Coal & Steel. Whereas saffron party’s Rama Devi has been appointed as the Chairperson of Committee on Social Justice & Empowerment.

Kanimozhi from DMK party bagged the post of Chairperson of Committee on Chemicals & Fertilisers. Another regional party Shiv Sena‘s leader, Prataprao Jadhav has been made the Chairperson of Committee on Rural Development.

Chairperson of Committee on Urban Development will be Jagdambika Pal. The committee also has other prominent leaders of BJP such as  Gautam Gambhir, Hema Malini & MJ Akbar. BJP’s Sanjay Jaiswal will now be the Chairperson of Committee on Water Resources. This committee also includes Prajwal Revanna & TMC’s Nusrat Jahan as its members.

Chairperson of the Committee on Petroleum & Natural Gas is BJP’s Ramesh Bidhuri. Ahmad Patel from the Congress party is also a member of the committee. 

Trinamool Congress leader, Sudip Bandyopadhyay has been appointed as Chairperson of Committee on Food, Consumer Affairs & Public Distribution. MC Mary Kom & Bhagwant Mann are some of the chosen members. Biju Janata Dal’s Bhartruhari Mahtab has been made the Chairperson of Committee on Labour.

BJP’s PC Gaddigoudar will now be the Chairperson of Committee on Agriculture. Rajiv Ranjan Singh has been appointed as Chairperson of Committee on Energy. Samajwadi Party’s Ram Gopal Yadav appointed as Chairperson of Committee on Health & Family Welfare. Congress’ AK Antony, BJP’s Suresh Prabhu & Subramanian Swamy also appointed as members.
TRS’ K Keshava Rao has been appointed as the Committee on Industry’s Chairperson.  Congress’ Jairam Ramesh will now be heading the Committee on Science & Technology, Environment & Forests’.

YSR Congress Party’s V Vijaya Sai Reddy appointed as the Chairperson of Parliamentary Standing Committee on Commerce. 

In a move contrary to the traditional appointment of opposition leaders the head of the committee on external affairs, the government has appointed Bhartiya Janta Party leader PP Choudhary. Jayant Sinha will now head the panels on finance. The previous head of the external affairs panel Shashi Tharoor has criticized the move.
Now Shashi Tharoor will head the standing committee on Information Technology. TMC’s Derek O’Brien, who was chairing the committee on transport, tourism, and culture has been replaced by T G Venkatesh.
In the recent announcement of the committees, Congress leaders were made the head of the three committees. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest News

Victoria Beckham is Eva Longoria’s go-to person for parenting tips

Los Angeles, Oct 19 (IANS) Actress Eva Longoria says her friend and designer Victoria Beckham is her go-to person...

UN chief condemns mosque attack in Afghanistan

United Nations, Oct 19 (IANS) UN Secretary-General Antonio Guterres strongly condemned attack inside a mosque in Afghanistan, which resulted in scores of deaths,...

Rita Ora flashes her lingerie

Mexico City, Oct 19 (IANS) Singer Rita Ora had an oops moment on stage in Mexico.The 28-year-old flashed her bra underneath a sheer top...

Demi Lovato’s fans furious after her nudes are leaked

Los Angeles, Oct 19 (IANS) Demi Lovato's fans are furious and have offered their support the singer after hackers reportedly posted a series of...

Prince William and Kate conclude Pakistan visit

Islamabad, Oct 19 (IANS) The United Kingdom's Prince William and Kate concluded their first visit to Pakistan.The Duke and Duchess Cambridge focused on education...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This