The Indian Wire » Politics » Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Congress declares ninth list of 10 Candidates; Karti Chidambaram to contest from Sivaganga
News Politics

Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Congress declares ninth list of 10 Candidates; Karti Chidambaram to contest from Sivaganga

Gearing up for the Lok Sabha Polls which are now days away, the Indian National Congress released its ninth list of 10 Candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha Polls. Out of the total 10 Candidates, the party has named 3 from Bihar, one each from Jammu and Kashmir, Tamil Nadu and Karnataka, while 4 from Maharahstra.

The Party in its ninth list named Tariq Anwar from Bihar’s Katihar, BK Hariprasad to contest from Bengaluru South, while Son of Former Union Minister P Chidambaram Karti Chidambaram from Tamil Nadu’s Sivaganga.

The Congress Central Election Committee further finalized the names of :


  1. Mohd Javed from Kishanganj
  2. Tariq Anwar from Katihar
  3. Uday Singh alias Pappu Singh from Purnia

READ: Check Out Full List of Congress Candidates for Lok Sabha Polls 2019


  1. Hidayat Patel from Akola
  2. Kishore Uttam Rao from Gajbhiya from Ramtek SC
  3. Subhash Wankhede from Hingoli
  4. Suresh Dhanorkar (In Place of Vinayak Bangade) from Chandrapur

Tamil Nadu

  1. Karti Chidambaram from Sivaganga

Jammu and Kashmir

  1. Haji Farooq Mir from Baramulla


  1. BK Hariprasad from Bangalore South

With the ninth list, Congress has now released a total of 230 Candidates. In the second list, Party has named Priya Dutt for Mumbai North Central Seat while in Uttar Pradesh.

Party in its first list maintaining the tradition has fielded its President Rahul Gandhi from Amethi, while United Progressive Alliance Chairperson Sonia Gandhi will be on electoral fray from home turf – Rae Bareli.

Election Commission had on March 10 declared schedule for General Elections 2019. Lok Sabha Polls are slated for April-May this year that would spread on Seven Phases starting from April 11 to May 19. Counting of Votes and Results for the mega Battle of ballots will be announced on May 23 four days after the 7th phase of voting.


About the author


Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!