The Indian Wire » Politics » Congress replaces Sanjay Nirupam with Milind Deora for party’s Top post in Maharashtra
News Politics

Congress replaces Sanjay Nirupam with Milind Deora for party’s Top post in Maharashtra


In a move to make organization reshuffle in Maharashtra Unit of the party, Congress on Monday replaced Sanjay Nirupam with Milind Deora as the party’s State Chief ahead of the mega Lok Sabha Polls 2019. Milind Deora who has been given the party’s ticket from Mumbai South Lok Sabha Seat will be the new Congress Chief of Maharashtra.

All India Congress Committee in a press release announced the appointment of Milind Deora as the new State Boss. “Congress president Rahul Gandhi has appointed Milind Deora as the new president of the Mumbai Regional Congress Committee. The party appreciates the contribution of outgoing president Sanjay Nirupam,” a statement from the party said.

Following his appointment as the Maharashtra Chief, Deora thanked Congress President Rahul Gandhi and UPA Chairperson Sonia Gandhi. Deora said as quoted by ANI, ‘Mumbai is a city of diversity, we’ll take everyone together & present a positive agenda to Mumbaikars’

It is noteworthy, that a delegation of city Congress leaders had a few months ago met Rahul Gandhi urging that Nirupam is stripped of the city chief’s post and requested Congress President to replaced with Deora.

Both Nirupam and Deora were in tussle were ever since Nirupam took over as a Chief of Congress Maharastra Unit. Deora had clashed with Sanjay Nirupam for the post State Unit Chief but had lost to.

Sanjay Nirupam in a run-up to the general elections has been given a ticket from Mumbai North-West Parliamentary Seat.

READ: Check Out Full List of Congress Candidates for Lok Sabha Polls 2019

Congress in a run-up to the General Elections has inked an alliance with NCP in Maharastra. the party who has kept 24 seats as a poll pact has already announced its candidates on 21 Parliamentary Seat.

Lok Sabha Polls are slated for April-May this year that would spread on Seven Phases starting from April 11 to May 19.

Counting of Votes and Results for the mega Battle of ballots will be announced on May 23 four days after the 7th phase of voting.


Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!