The Indian Wire » News » Congress releases second list of 54 Candidates for Odisha State Polls; fields Jayadev Jana from Anandapur
News Politics

Congress releases second list of 54 Candidates for Odisha State Polls; fields Jayadev Jana from Anandapur

Gearing up to unseat Odisha CM Naveen PatnaikIndian National Congress on Friday released the second list of 54 candidates for the state polls of Odisha that slated to clubbed with General Elections. Earlier the party in its first list announced candidates on 36 Assembly seats.

READ: Congress releases first list of 36 Candidates for Odisha State Polls; Ram Krishna Panda to take on Naveen Patnaik

Congress Second list of 54 Candidates includes Jayadev Jena to contest from Anandapur, Biplab Jena to contest from Angul. Other names are:

  1. Ripunath Seth from BIJEPUR
  2. Saroj Mohapatra from BHATLI
  3. Mahendra Nayak from JHARSUGUDA
  4. Dr. Prafulla Majhi from TALSARA (ST)
  5. Amita Biswal from SUNDARGARH (ST)
  6. Prashant Sethy from RAGHUNATHPALI (SC)
  7. Muktikant Biswal from ROURKELA
  8. Shovaram Pradhan from KUCHINDA (ST)
  9. Bala Krishna Rohidass from RENGALI (SC)
  10. Ashwini Kumar Guru from SAMBALPUR
  11. Assat Khan from RAIRAKHOL
  12. Uma Shankar Sahoo from DEOGARH
  13. Jayadev Jona from ANANDAPUR (SC)
  14. Bidyadhar Dehury from KEONJHAR (ST)
  15. Jadumani Barik from CHAMPUA
  16. Sudarn Charan Naik from KARANJIA (ST)
  17. Sudarshan Das from JALESWAR
  18. Manojmanjari Debi from NILGIRI
  19. Bandito Parida from KOREI
  20. Nabin Nanda from DHENKANAL
  21. Subrat Garnaik from PALLAHARA
  22. Suresh Chandra Bohra from TALCHER
  23. Biplab Jona from ANGUL
  24. Sasmita Bohra from CHHENDIPAOA (SC)
  25. Bijayanand Choliya from ATHAMALLIK
  26. Chitranjan Mishra from SONEPUR
  27. Naba Kishore Naik from LOISINGHA (SC)
  28. Surendra Singh Bhoi from TITLAGARH
  29. Santosh Singnsalura from KANTABANJI
  30. Smt. Jasoda Rani from UMERKOTE (ST)
  31. G Shri Anil Singh from JUNAGARH
  32. Sagar Charan Das from BHAWANIPATNA
  33. Chitaranjan Mandal (Babul’) from NARLA
  34. Dr Oebasis Patnaik from BANKI
  35. Uma Ballav Rath from ATHAGARH
  36. Mohammed Moquim  from BARABATI-CUTTACK
  37. Ratnakar Behra from CUTTACK SADAR (SC)
  38. Ganeshwar Behra from KENDRAPARA (SC)
  39. Devendra Sharma from AUL
  40. Anshuman Mohanty from RAJANAGAR
  41. Chiranjib Biswal from JAGATSINGHPUR
  42. Biswa Bhusan Das from KAKATPUR (SC)
  43. Umakant Bara’ from BRAHMAGIRI
  44. Prasad Harichandran from SATYABAOI
  45. Rasmirekha Mohapatra from EKAMRABHIJBANESWAR
  46. Suresh Kumar Routray from JATANI
  47. Subhashree panda from RANPUR
  48. Bhokali Setty from KHALIXOTE (SC)
  49. Sangram Mohanty from SURADA
  50. Prafulla Panda (in place of Bismaya Mahapatra) from DIGAPAHAND’
  51. K. Surya Rao from PARALAKHEMIJNOI
  52. Appalswamy Kadarka from RAYAGADA (ST)
  53. Kailash Kulesika fromLAXMIPUR
  54. Chandrasekhar Majhi from KOTPAO (ST)

Congress in a run-up the Odisha State Polls has stitched an alliance with Jharkhand Mukti Morcha and will take on Naveen Patnaik’s BJD and aggressive Bhartiya Janta Party.

Both BJP and BJD have also started rolling out lists of Candidates for the state Polls.

The Odisha State Polls will be clubbed with the General Elections 2019. The State will Poll on the four rounds of Polling starting from April 11. The State has a total of 147 State Assembly while having 21 Lok Sabha Seats. Currently, BJD has 117 lawmakers in the state assembly.

General Elections are slated for April-May this year that would spread on Seven Phases starting from April 11 to May 19. Election Commission had declared schedule for General Elections 2019.

The Counting of votes for the mega battle of ballots will take place on May 23, four days after last round of polling.

In 2014 General Elections, BJD totally swept the state by bagging 20 seats out of 21 seats while banking on ‘Modi Wave’ the saffron party could only manage to get 1 Lok Sabha Seat in the state.


About the author


Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!