Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Former MP Jaya Prada joins BJP; to contest against Azam Khan from Rampur

Must Read

Sanju Samson to replace Shikhar Dhawan in T20 series against WI

Sanju Samson will replace injured Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan in the T20s series against West Indies starting from next...

Supreme Court lashes out on Centre & Delhi govts for Rising Pollution

The Apex Court of the Country, the Supreme Court on Monday lashed the Central and State Government for their...

Harbhajan Singh wishes BCCI Prez Sourav Ganguly to change Selection Panel

The Indian off-spinner Harbhajan Singh on Monday urged Sourav Ganguly, President of BCCI (The Board of Control for Cricket...
Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

With just weeks before crucial Lok Sabha Polls 2019, Famous actor and former Member of Lok Sabha Jaya Prada joined the Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) today. The Saffron Party has fielded her from Rampur Parliamentary Seat against Samajwadi Party Senior Leader Azam Khan. Her addition to the party is seen as a big boost for the party workers in the State.

Veteran Actor had in past represented Rampur twice in the Lok Sabha — in 2004 and 2009 — as a Samajwadi Party member.

Earlier she has claimed that she was harassed by Azam Khan and had received threats from him.

Former MP Prada has first entered politics with NT Rama Rao’s Telugu Desam Party in 1994 however, she later quit following her differences with Chandrababu Naidu and joined Samajwadi Party in 2002. She later elected to Lower House of Parliament from UP’s Rampur Lok Sabha Seat.

READ: Full List of BJP Candidates for Lok Sabha Polls 2019

However, she along with Amar Singh expelled from the party with increasing Differences with SP Patriarch Mulayam Singh Yadav.

However, both Prada and Singh floated a new political outfit Rashtriya Lok Manch. The party in 2012 UP State Polls fielded a number of Candidates however none won.

Months before 2014 General Elections, both Jaya Prada and Amar Singh joined Ajit Singh’s Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD). She had in 2014 unsuccessfully contested from Bijnor Parliamentary Seat against BJP’s Kunwar Bhartendra.

BJP in a run-up to the General Elections 2019 has already started rolling out the lists of Candidates and has so far declared Candidates on over 290 Lok Sabha Seats. In Uttar Pradesh, the party has till now announced 31 Candidates with PM Modi contesting from Varanasi, Rajnath Singh from Lucknow, Hema Malini from Mathura, Smriti Irani from Amethi, General VK Singh from Ghaziabad Lok Sabha Seat.

Voting to 80 Lok Sabha Seats will spread across all seven phases starting from April 11.

Election Commission had on March 10 declared schedule for General Elections 2019. Lok Sabha Polls are slated for April-May this year that would spread on Seven Phases starting from April 11 to May 19. Counting of Votes and Results for the mega Battle of ballots will be announced on May 23 four days after the 7th phase of voting.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest News

Bungie revealed Destiny 2 season 9: Here is the list of everything that is gonna change

Destiny 2 was released in 2017 and the game is about to complete its 8th week. So now, the...

Priyanka Gandhi meets Unnao rape victim’s kin

Congress leader Priyanka Gandhi visited Unnao and met the family of the girl who succumbed to her burn injuries last night at a hospital...

Rakul Preet Singh to star with Sidharth Malhotra and Ajay Devgn in Indra Kumar’s film

We recently told you that actor Ajay Devgn had joined Sidharth Malhotra for a film which will be directed by Indra Kumar who has...

Delhi Government reduces winter break in schools to makeup for the lost study hours

The increasing pollution level in New Delhi is worrying everyone and most importantly, it is affecting the education of the students. Keeping that in...

‘Gully Boy’ actor Siddhant Chaturvedi to star with Deepika Padukone in Shakun Batra directorial

After giving an impressive performance in Zoya Akhtar’s Gully Boy, actor Siddhant Chaturvedi is all set to share the screen space with actor Deepika...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This