The Indian Wire » News » Karnataka CM HD Kumaraswamy appoints 2 Congress MLAs Chiefs of State Board, Corporation

Karnataka CM HD Kumaraswamy appoints 2 Congress MLAs Chiefs of State Board, Corporation

The Janata Dal (Secular) and Congress Coalition Government in Karnataka picked Congress Lawmaker K Sudhakar as the Chairperson of the Karnataka State Pollution Control Board (KSPCB) on Thursday.

Congress MLA from Chikkaballapura Assembly constituency, Dr. Sudhakar K confirmed his appointment and thanked leaders of his party and CM HD Kumaraswamy and Deputy CM G Parameshwar.

Taking to Twitter, Sudhakar K said, “I thank my leader AICC president Rahul Gandhi ji, My leader Siddaramaiah ji, Chief Minister Kumaraswamy ji, AICC Gen Sec KC Venugopal ji, DCM G Parameshwar ji, KPCC Pres Dinesh Gundu Rao ji & all my party colleagues who have vested their belief in me to chair the KSPCB’.

Sudhakar had earlier refused to be a part of the HD Kumaraswamy-led State cabinet. His name for the KSPCB’s Chairman was proposed by the Congress.

It should be noted that both JD-S Leaders – HD Kumaraswamy and HD Deve Gowda had earlier maintained that the Congress Legislator Dr. Sudhakar K is not an appropriate candidate as he does fit into the guidelines of the Top Court, for the particular post.

Apart from him, MLA Venkataramanaiah was appointed as the Chairperson of Bangalore International Airport Area Planning Authority (BIAAPA). The move is seen as an attempt to keep the coalition government intact and to pacify disgruntled MLAs.

Both Sudhakar and Venkataramanaiah were given the new responsibilities with the Cabinet Rank.

It should be noted that the Congress-JD(S) Coalition Government in the state is facing rough patches ever since it is formed last year. Congress after Karnataka State Polls last year has extended Support to JD(S) and Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy with an aim to keep BJP out of the power.

The Congress-JD(S) together has 117 MLAs in Karnataka Assembly earlier with Congress 80, JDS 37 and one from BSP, while BJP has 105 in the 224-member Assembly. The halfway mark is 113.

Earlier on June 14, Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy expanded his State Cabinet by inducting two more Lawmakers. Two MLAs – R. Shankar and H. Nagesh – were inducted into the Karnataka Cabinet last week


Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!

Shop on Amazon