KCR likely to take oath as Telangana CM tomorrow

TRS Chief K Chandrashekar Rao (popularly known as KCR among his supporters) will take oath as the chief minister of Telangana on December 13, after his party pulled up a landslide victory in the December 7 Telangana assembly polls, quoted by news agency ANI as per its sources!

Telangana Rashtriya Samithi won 88 out of 119 seats in the state, 25 more than the last elections held in undivided Andhra Pradesh in 2014. KCR won by a margin of over 51,000 votes from his Gajwel seat. Rao’s son KT Rama Rao won by over 1.20 lakh votes, KCR’s nephew T Harish Rao also bagged his seat with an impressive margin.

TRS who stormed to power in 2014 in undivided Andhra Pradesh was in a stiff resistance with the main opposition Prajakutami (a term given to the Congress-led alliance). The Congress-led managed to gain power on only 19 seats. In the alliance, all 19 seats were bagged by the Congress, two less what it won in the last polls, while the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) could win only two against its tally of 15 seats in 2014. The two other coalition partners – Telangana Jana Samithi and Communist Party of India also failed to open their accounts.

While Asaduddin’s Owaisi‘s AIMIM who called KCR’s party as ‘friendly party’ won 7 seats out of 8 contested seats in Hyderabad.

Reacting on the lost, TDP Chief and Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister N Chandrababu Naidu said that he respects the peoples’ verdict, but claimed the results of the assembly polls 2018 in five states showed people had become “antagonistic” to the BJP.

While Congress raised suspicions on EVMs and demanded that all votes be counted using the VVPAT (Voter Verified Paper Audit Trail) to ascertain the exact number of votes polled by each candidate.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here