The Indian Wire » News » Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Jaganmohan Reddy’s YSRCP announces candidates for Lok Sabha, state elections in Andhra Pradesh
News Politics

Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Jaganmohan Reddy’s YSRCP announces candidates for Lok Sabha, state elections in Andhra Pradesh

Jaganmohan news's

On Sunday, YSR Congress in Andhra Pradesh released its full list of candidates for 25 Lok Sabha and 175 Assembly constituencies in Andhra Pradesh.

YSR Congress is the main opposition in Andhra Pradesh.

Y S Jaganmohan Reddy YSR Congress supremo released the list after paying tribute to his late father and former CM YS Rajasekhara Reddy at their family estate in Idupulapaya of Kadapa district.

Of the 25 Lok Sabha candidates, 7 were from backward classes, 4 from Scheduled Castes and 1 Scheduled Tribe candidate.

Also out of the 175 Assembly candidates, 41 belonged to the backward classes and 5 to the Muslim community.

Only two previous candidates, who were elected as MPs in 2014, have been re-nominated, while the YSR Congress has chosen new nominees for the remaining 23 seats.

Mekapati Rajamohan Reddy and Y V Subba Reddy, who represented Nellore and Ongole constituencies respectively have been dropped.

Vara Prasad, who was Tirupati MP, has been fielded for the from Gudur (SC) Assembly constituency.

Modugula Venugopal Reddy, the TDP MLA who recently joined the YSRC, has been fielded as the party’s candidate for the Guntur Lok Sabha seat.

Former MP Vanga Geeta, who joined the YSRC on Saturday evening, has been fielded from Kakinada while MLC Magunta Srinivasulu Reddy, who too joined the party on Saturday night, will be contesting for the Ongole Lok Sabha seat.

Former Minister B Durga Prasad, who is also amongst those who defected from the TDP, has been chosen as the candidate for Tirupati (SC) seat.

Adala Prabhakar Reddy, another defector from the TDP, has been fielded to contest for the Nellore Lok Sabha seat.

Businessman Potluri Vara Prasad (PVP), is fielded to contest from Vijayawada parliamentary constituency. This election is going to be PVP’s debut in politics.

Gorantla Madhav, former inspector of police, has been fielded from Hindupur Lok Sabha.

Previously, in 2014, the YSRC won eight Lok Sabha seats in Andhra Pradesh.

Anakapalli MP M Srinivasa Rao has been given the Bhimili Assembly ticket of his choice.


Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!

Shop on Amazon