MHA withdraws security cover of 22 Separatists leaders in Jammu and Kashmir

The central government has withdrawn security cover of 919 ‘undeserving persons’ in Jammu and Kashmir since June 18 following a strict stand on inappropriate use of scarce police resources in the militancy-hit state. The list of the persons whose security covers have been removed includes 22 separatist leaders. The move freed 2,768 police personnel and 389 vehicles according to the report of Ministry of Home Affairs on Friday.

According to the observations of the ministry, many undeserving people manage to get security cover resulting in the scarcity of state police resources in the terror-prone area Jammu and Kashmir.

Under the administration of the governor of Jammu and Kashmir, Satya Pal Malik, a case-by-case in-depth review was taken on merits. Following the strict regulations from the ministry, the Jammu and Kashmir state security Review Coordination Committee held regular meetings to examine all the case to ensure the compliance of norms.

An official from the Home Ministry said, “Thus, the Jammu and Kashmir government has withdrawn security cover of 919 undeserving persons since the state has come under the governor’s rule on June 20, 2018. The move freed 2,768 police personnel and 389 vehicles.”

The list of the people from whom the security forces have been taken include, 96 leaders and workers from Congress, 78 of National Conference, 66 leaders of BJP, 13 leaders of CPI(M), seven people from the People Democratic Front, Five people from the Awami League, two people from the People’s conference including the member of the other regional parties. The list also has 22 separatist leaders who are supposed to be indulged in “anti-national activities.”

The availability of the freed police personnel and the vehicles can be used for the security of the militancy-hit state. Many people allegedly were using these security forces against their entitlement.

On February 17, three days after the Pulwama terror attack, Center had withdrawn the security cover of separatist leaders Mirwaiz Umar Farooq, Shabir Shah, Hashim Qureshi, Bilal Lone, and Abdul Ghani Bhat.

The decision was taken by the center after the dastardly suicide bomb attack in the Pulwama district of Jammu and Kashmir in which 40 Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) personnel were killed.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here