Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik launches Small Savings incentives scheme

Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik in a bid to increase saving habits among state citizens launched the ‘Odisha Small Savings Incentive Scheme’ for 2019 on Thursday. The launched scheme will be run under the notation “AQ” series.

Naveen Patnaik’s government will conduct a lucky draw of all investors of small savings schemes and give winners a cash award to promote saving habit.

A press release by Information and Public Relations Department read, “It is expected that the people will not run after the suspicious non-banking private financial institutions, in the greed of high returns, rather they will show their faith in the Small Savings Schemes which is proven to be safe and secure.”

Under the provisions of the scheme, any eligible person can deposit a minimum amount of Rs. 2,000 in any Small Savings Schemes (Kisan Vikas Patra, Public Provident Fund, National Savings Certificate, Post Office (Monthly Income) Account) of Odisha government during the calendar year 2019 in any Post office or bank located in Odisha. Then he can get a free web-based coupon from the office of the collectors, sub-collectors or block development officers. This will be like a lucky draw ticket.

On April 26, 2020, a state-level lucky draw of the scheme will take place in which people can win a cash award.

In a high-level state committee chaired by Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Wednesday, five welfare schemes worth 265 crores were approved for the development of Puri.

Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik also inaugurated 22 new projects in the state, budgeted with an expense of ₹4,461.42 crore. 

Among 22 new projects, there are 10 industrial units. Other projects span across 9 different sectors such as Textile, Infrastructure, Metal, Tourism, Cement, Power, etc.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here