Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Om Prakash Rajbhar’s SBSP breaks ties with BJP in UP; announces to contest on 25 seats alone

Giving a big blow to Bharatiya Janata Party in the middle of national elections 2019, the Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party (SBSP), an ally of the ruling BJP in Uttar Pradesh, on Monday said it will on its own in the state in the ongoing mega battle of ballots in the ongoing Lok Sabha polls in the state.

Talking to the media, the party chief Omprakash Rajbhar said that his party will contest the national elections 2019 in UP on its own and will field its candidate on 25 Parliamentary seats. He further said that the party will soon announce the name of candidates.

The Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party (SBSP) had in 2017 Assembly Polls stitched an alliance with BJP and had on four assembly seat.

However, hours after SBSP’s announcement of going alone in the state,  Uttar Pradesh Deputy Chief Minister Keshav Prasad Maurya said that the small ally will continue to be with us in the state.

Rajbhar talking to media further revealed the minutes of a meeting held at CM Yogi Adityanath’s residence where Union Minister JP Nadda was also present. He said he was asked to field a candidate on BJP, which I disapproved.

He insisted to use his party symbol even if the SBSP got just one seat to contest.

Rajbhar, who is currently serving as the minister for backward class welfare and divyangjan empowerment in Yogi’s Government said he had sought time from Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, but was yet to get an appointment.

Rajbhar also said he has sent his resignation to the private secretary of the Chief Minister.

READ: Here’s the full list of Candidates announced by Congress-led UPA for Lok Sabha Polls 2019

Meanwhile, Rajbhar’s son and SBSP general secretary Arun Rajbhar said, “The alliance with the BJP is for the Assembly polls and not for Lok Sabha elections.”

Earlier, in January early this year, SBSP chief Om Prakash Rajbhar gave the BJP a 100-day ultimatum to fulfil his demands of implementing reservation within the 27 per cent OBC quota. He had also threatened to dessert coalition.

While Bharatiya Janata Party in a run-up to the mega polls had inked an alliance with Apna Dal (S) and had offered 2 seats in the state while contesting remaining 78 on its own.

In 2014 General Elections, BJP led NDA banking on heavy Modi wave bagged 73 seats, while Congress to save its two bastions – Amethi and Rae Bareli. Samajwadi Party only secured 5 seats with its Founder Mulayam Singh Yadav contesting from two seats. Mayawati led BSP could not open its account.

General Elections have already begun from April 11 and would spread on Seven Phases starting from April 11 to May 19.

Uttar Pradesh which has a total of 80 seats will go to polls in all seven phases starting from April 11. The Lok Sabha Seats of – Gautam Budh Nagar, Ghaziabad, Meerut, Kairana, Saharanpur, Muzaffarnagar, Baghpat and Bijnor have already voted on April 11.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here