The Indian Wire » News » Delhi Metro’s New Year Gift, Pink line’s Lajpat Nagar-Mayur Vihar Pocket 1 corridor flagged off

Delhi Metro’s New Year Gift, Pink line’s Lajpat Nagar-Mayur Vihar Pocket 1 corridor flagged off

The 9.7-km long Lajpat Nagar-Mayur Vihar Pocket 1 corridor of the Delhi Metro‘s Pink Line was inaugurated on Monday by Union minister of housing and urban affairs Hardeep Singh Puri and deputy chief minister of Delhi Manish Sisodia, at Metro Bhawan Auditorium.

The line was slated to operational for commuters from 4.00 pm today.

“I feel utmost pleasure & pride to flag off Lajpat Nagar to Mayur Vihar Pocket 1 section of Pink line of Delhi metro, with Hon’ble Union Minister @HardeepSPuri Delhi metro had 6 inaugurations in 2018. I congratulate the engineers of Delhi Metro for their marvellous work.” tweeted Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia.

The Lajpat Nagar-Mayur Vihar Pocket 1 corridor has five stations — Lajpat Nagar, Vinobapuri, Ashram, Hazrat Nizamuddin, Mayur Vihar Ph-I and Mayur Vihar Pocket-1.

The underground stations of the segment are Lajpat Nagar, Vinobapuri, Ashram, and Hazrat Nizamuddin. The elevated stations of the new segment are Mayur Vihar Phase-I and Mayur Vihar Pocket-1.

However, a small section between Mayur Vihar Pocket 1 to Trilokpuri Sanjay Lake is still under construction due to land issues. Hence, trains from Majlis Park will go until Mayur Vihar Pocket 1, while trains coming from Shiv Vihar will terminate at either IP Extension and Trilokpuri Sanjay Lake.

Some of the other stretches under the Phase-III project are:

  • Extension of Delhi Metro’s Blue Line, from Noida City Centre metro station to Noida sector 62: It will be ready maximum by January 2019. The extended stretch will consist of 6 stations- Noida Sector 34, Noida Sector 52, Noida Sector 61, Noida Sector 59, Noida Sector 62 and Noida Electronic City.
  • Dilshad Garden-Ghaziabad Bus Stand: It is believed to be functional by January 2019. It will cover 8 stations namely Shaheed Nagar, Raj Bagh, Rajendra Nagar, Shyam Park, Mohan Nagar, Arthala, Hindon river, Ghaziabad New Bus Stand.
  • The Dwarka-Najafgarh section under the Grey Line of Phase-III of Delhi Metro which was earlier slated to open in August 2019, will now be operational only by September 2019.

About the author


Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!