Railway Minister Suresh Prabhu and Chairman Mittal resign

After two fierce train accidents in the country in the last four days, Railway Minister Suresh Prabhu and Chairman of the Board AK Mittal resigned.

However, the resignation of Suresh Prabhu is still not accepted by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi keeping it on wait for the time being. Suresh Prabhu on Wednesday tweeted his grief over the two tragic rail accidents and took full responsibility for them. He said that Modi had asked him to wait regarding the acceptance of his resignation.

There have been two fierce train accidents in the country in the last four days. In the first incident, nearly 24 people died due to the derailment of the train in Muzaffarnagar. After this, about 74 people have been injured in the collision of a competent Express in Uttar Pradesh’s Auraiya district today.

After these incidents, there is an atmosphere of resentment across the country. While the opposition is accusing and holding the government responsible for the incident, the government defending itself said that there were more accidents witnessed before 2014. The opposition had also demanded the resignation of the Railway Minister Suresh Prabhu.

This afternoon, Suresh Prabhu gave a statement on all these incidents by posting five tweets one after the other. Prabhu said that in the last three years, he has worked day and night to improve the condition of the country’s railways. He also added that justice will be given to all the victims of the accident.

Following these accidents, the government has also initiated few some steps according to reports, the railway has evacuated many employees and has sent several officials on leave. Apart from this, the Railways had announced that it would appoint around 2 lakh new employees to secure the country’s railway system.