The Indian Wire » News » Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Shiv Sena Declares 21 Candidates in Maharashtra; names Arvind Sawant from South Mumbai
News Politics

Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Shiv Sena Declares 21 Candidates in Maharashtra; names Arvind Sawant from South Mumbai

Udhhav Thackeray‘s Shiv Sena who has forged an alliance with Bhartiya Janta Party in Maharashtra for Lok Sabha Polls has on Friday released its first list of 21 Candidates. The party has been allotted 23 seats under the poll pact with BJP in the state that sends 48 parliamentarians to the Lok Sabha. Bhartiya Janta Party has kept 25 seats of the state in its kitty.

The party in its first list named 17 sitting MPs out of the total 21 declared. Apart from the party has cut the ticket of 18th Lawmaker who had in 2017 slapped Air India Employee. The other names in the list include:

  1. South Mumbai-Arvind Sawant
  2. South Central Mumbai-Rahul Shewale
  3. Mumbai North West-Gajanan Kirtikar
  4. Kalyan-Shrikant Shinde
  5. Raigad-Anant Gite
  6. Ratnagiri-Sindhudurg seat-Vinayak Raut
  7. Kolhapur-Sanjay Mandlik
  8. Hatkanangle-Dhairyasheel Mane
  9. Nashik-Hemant Godse
  10. Shirdi-Sadashiv Lokhande
  11. Shirur-Shivajirao Adhalrao Patil
  12. Aurangabad-Chandrakant Khaire
  13. Yavatmal Washim-Bhawana Gawli
  14. Buldana-Prataprao Jadhav
  15. Ramtek-Kripal Tumane
  16. Amravati-Anandrao Adsul
  17. Parbhani-Sanjay Jadhav
  18. Maval-Shrirang Barne
  19. Hingoli-Hemant Patil
  20. Osmanabad-Omraje Nimbalkar
  21. Thane-Rajan Vichare

The Party had in 2014 contested 20 Lok Sabha seats and had won 20 amidst Heavy Modi wave. The Shiv-Sena along with Bhartiya Janta Party will take on Congress-NCP Alliance in the state. NCP has so far released 17 candidates, while BJP and Congress have also started rolling out names for Maharashtra.

Both NCP and Congress have packed a deal to take on BJP–Shiv Sena alliance in Maharashtra however, the seat sharing arrangement is still in the final rounds. Sources claimed that Congress is expected to get a lion share in seat sharing with Rahul Gandhi led may contest on 26 seats while NCP may settle for remaining 22 seats.

Maharashtra has a total of 48 Lok Sabha seats, Second highest after Uttar Pradesh. In 2014 General Elections, BJP-Shiv Sena led NDA won 41 Lok Sabha Seats. While Congress was reduced to just 6 Parliamentary seats.

General Elections are slated for April-May this year that would spread on Seven Phases starting from April 11 to May 19. Election Commission had on Sunday declared schedule for General Elections 2019. Results for the crucial Lok Sabha Polls will be announced on May 23 four days after the 7th phase of voting.


About the author


Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!