Tammineni Seetharam unanimously elected Andhra Assembly Speaker

Must Read

President Ram Nath Kovind appoints new governor for Kerala, Telangana, Himachal Pradesh and Maharashtra

President Ram Nath Kovind appointed new governors for Maharashtra, Kerala, Telangana, Rajasthan, and Himachal Pradesh on Sunday. https://twitter.com/ANI/status/1168037199767457792 Former Union Minister Kalraj...

NRC list for Assam released; Fear looms as 19 lakh people face exclusion

NRC (National Register of Citizens) for Assam has been published at 10 am today. The final list excludes over...

Lateral Entry Era Begins as Union govt. appoints 9 professionals to Joint Secretary posts

The government has appointed its first batch of private professionals to the post of Joint Secretary in various ministries....

Amaravati, June 13 (IANS) Thammineni Seetharam of the YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) was on Thursday unanimously elected as the Speaker of Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly.

Seetharam, who was elected from Amadalavalasa constituency in Srikakulam district, was declared elected to the post by the Protem Speaker C. Appala Naidu on the second day of the first session of the new state Assembly.

Seetharam was elected unopposed since only he had filed the nomination for the post of Speaker.

Chief Minister Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy, opposition Telugu Desam Party (TDP) MLA Atchan Naidu and others greeted Seetharam and accompanied him to the chair.

TDP president N. Chandrababu Naidu also congratulated Seetharam and recalled that the latter had entered politics during his student days, responding to a call given by TDP founder N. T. Rama Rao.

Seetharam, a six-time MLA, began his political career with the TDP. He served as a minister in the cabinets of both N. T. Rama Rao and Chandrababu Naidu in 1980s and 1990s.

He had joined the Praja Rajyam Party floated by actor Chiranjeevi in 2009 but lost the elections. In 2013, he joined YSRCP but was again defeated in 2014.

The 64-year-old was elected as a YSRCP candidate in the recent elections. He is the fourth leader from Srikakulam to become the Speaker.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest News

SRI Capital leads $3 million pre-Series A round in health tech startup Meddo

SRI Capital led a Pre-Series A round with $3 million (approx ₹21 crore) investment in a health tech startup...

Erica Fernandes looks sublime in her Bikini on a beach, Check out the photo

Erica Fernandes is a well known TV actress who is known for her roles like Dr. Sonakshi Bose in Kuch Rang Pyar Ke Aise...

OnePlus 7, OnePlus 7T To get Android 10 based OxygenOS Open Beta 2 Update

A few days back OnePlus has release Oxygen OS-based Android 10 Open Beta 1 for its flagship phones now OnePlus 7 and OnePlus 7 Pro...

Marketing tech company Silverpush acqui-hires recipe-sharing platform BetterButter

BetterButter, an Indian recipe-sharing platform, has been acquired by Silverpush, a Singapore-based marketing technology company. Silverpush said that the acquisition will strengthen the advertising business...

Mamata Banerjee calls for conservation of water; wishes on World Water Monitoring Day

On the eve of World Water Monitoring Day, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee called for the need for conservation of water. She emphasized...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This