Uttar Pradesh gives nod for renaming New Bus Adda and Rajendra Nagar Metro Stations

Must Read

Jharkhand polls for 81 constituencies from November 30 to December 20; counting on 23rd December

Addressing a press meeting today, Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora has announced the poll dates for Jharkhand Legislative assembly....

Congress forms six-member committee of AICC to review situation of NRC in Assam

In a bid to review the condition of Assam state after the implementation of the NRC exercise, Congress party...

Shiv Sena elects Eknath Shinde as party’s legislative leader; Sunil Prabhu appointed as chief whip of party

In a striking breakthrough, Shiv Sena elected senior minister Eknath Shinde as the party's legislative leader today. It has...
Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

The Uttar Pradesh Government on Monday approved the name change of two metro stations on the Dilshad Garden to New Bus Stand route which is awaiting inauguration, officials said on Monday.

After the Government’s approval, the New Bus Adda will be called ‘Shaheed Sthal’ and Rajendra Nagar Metro station will be known as ‘Major Mohit Sharma’ (Rajendra Nagar) station. Most possibly these names will be changed before the inauguration of the Metro route, Officials said on Monday.

District Magistrate Ritu Maheshwari said that the request to change the name of the metro stations was sent to the state government by the District Administration and Ghaziabad Development Authority following the requests in the form of memorandums from public representatives and Ghaziabad residents.

Following which the Uttar Pradesh government has written to Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs and Delhi Metro Rail Corporation for the same matter.

While ‘Shaheed Sthal’ Metro Station will be in the memory of martyrs, while ‘Major Mohit Sharma’ will be in the memory of Kargil Martyrs.

Chief Secretary of Uttar Pradesh Nitin Ramesh Gokaran has sent demi-official letter to the Secretary of Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs, Government of India and the Delhi Metro Rail Corporation Limited (DMRC) to change the names.

The New Metro Line is expected to be flag off on March 8 by the Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath. However, the date is subjected to confirmation of the Prime Minister’s Office, District Magistrate Ritu Maheshwari added.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest News

SL polls: Voters asked not to take photos inside booths

Colombo, Nov 15 (IANS) The Election Commission (EC) of Sri Lanka has asked voters not to take photos or...

Bollywood actor Alia Bhatt backed fashion tech startup StyleCracker raises $2 million from AMJ Ventures

StyleCracker, a fashion tech startup, backed by Bollywood actor Alia Bhatt, has raised $2 million investment from AMJ Ventures, cited Mint. The firm StyleCracker will...

Abu Dhabi T10 kicks off with glittering opening ceremony

Abu Dhabi, Nov 15 (IANS) The Abu Dhabi T10 has burst onto the global cricketing scene with an explosive opening ceremony and concert at...

US Senators try to fast-track HK democracy bill

Washington/Hong Kong, Nov 15 (IANS) The US Senate has initiated an expedited "hotline" process to pass the Hong Kong Human Rights and Democracy Act,...

‘Ashiqui Mein Teri 2.0’: Himesh Reshammiya’s new version of his own super hit song is out; Check out

After the epic success of the song Teri Meri Kahani that introduced Ranu Mondal, the makers of the upcoming film Happy Hardy and Heer have released...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This