10 parties including YSRCP, BJD backs Om Birla’s candidature for Lok Sabha Speaker

The nomination of BJP nominee Om Birla has been supported by over 10 political parties including Naveen Patnaik‘s Biju Janata Dal (BJD) and Jagan Mohan Reddy‘s YSR Congress Party (YSRCP).

Speaking on the development Union Parliamentary Affairs minister Pralhad Joshi said, PM Narendra Modi, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh, Home Minister Amit Shah, and Transport Minister Nitin Gadkari were among the proposers of the name of Om Birla for the post of Lok Sabha Speaker.

Joshi added the political parties including BJD, Shiv Sena, National People’s Party, Mizo National Front, Akali Dal, Lok Janshakti Party, YSRCP, JDU, AIADMK, & Apna Dal have signed the proposal backing Om Birla for the post of the next Lok Sabha Speaker.

It should be noted that Naveen Patnaik’s BJD and YSRCP are not a part of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) however both the regional parties have extended their support unconditionally.

Joshi further added that they have talked to Congress for supporting the candidature of Om Birla. Congress has yet not signed the proposal. However, Joshi claimed that he has met Ghulam Nabi Azad and Congress would not oppose. Chandrababu Naidu‘s TDP too have not signed the proposal but it is expected that they too would not oppose the proposal.

An election for the Lok Sabha Speaker Post is slated for tomorrow, June 19.

Om Birla is a two time parliamentarian from Kota-Bundi Lok Sabha Seat of Rajasthan. In the recently held national polls, BJP Candidate from Kota Om Birla registered a victory by defeating Ramnarain Meena of Congress with over 2.5 lakh votes.

It should be noted that BJP Senior Leader and Former Union Minister Maneka Gandhi was also considered among the frontrunners for the post. In the 16th Lok Sabha, eight-time BJP MP Sumitra Mahajan was the Lok Sabha Speaker. However, she opted out of the poll race and asked BJP to announce candidate from Indore Lok Sabha Seat.


Who is Om Birla?- From Student Union President to 17th Lok Sabha Speaker


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here