Setback to Congress in Telangana; 12 out of 18 MLAs shift to TRS; Speaker approves merger

Must Read

Sanju Samson to replace Shikhar Dhawan in T20 series against WI

Sanju Samson will replace injured Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan in the T20s series against West Indies starting from next...

Supreme Court lashes out on Centre & Delhi govts for Rising Pollution

The Apex Court of the Country, the Supreme Court on Monday lashed the Central and State Government for their...

Harbhajan Singh wishes BCCI Prez Sourav Ganguly to change Selection Panel

The Indian off-spinner Harbhajan Singh on Monday urged Sourav Ganguly, President of BCCI (The Board of Control for Cricket...
Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

In a big setback for Congress, its 12 out of 18 MLAs in Telangana Assembly breakaway with the party with Assembly Speaker Pocharam Srinivas Reddy recognized them all as TRS members.

It comes after Congress Lawmakers met Assembly Speaker Pocharam Srinivas Reddy and submitted a memorandum seeking a merger of the group with K Chandrashekhar Rao‘s Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS).

With the development, TRS tally in the assembly is now 103 MLAs in the 119-member Assembly. Congress is now left with 6 MLAs and is now no more a second largest party as Asaduddin Owaisi‘s AIMIM have 7 Legislators in the Telangana Assembly.

Before this development, a total of 11 MLAs had shifted to TRS in the state. However, Tandur legislator P Rohit Reddy on Thursday also come in-board. It came hours after TPCC Chief Uttam Kumar Reddy resigned from Assembly after elected to 17th Lok Sabha. With Reddy’s resignation, Congress tally in the state fell to 18 followings which 12 merge with TRS.

As per rule, To avoid defections, 2/3rd MLAs of any political party is required to join the party in the assembly without facing anti-defection laws.

Before meeting the speaker Pocharam Srinivas Reddy, group of 12 MLAs met the TRS working President KT Rama Rao.

The MLAs who have switched sides are Atram Sakku, J Surendra, Sudheer Reddy, Haripriya Naik, R Kantha Rao, G Venkataramana Reddy, Vanama Venkateswara Rao, Rohit Reddy, Upendra Reddy, Ch Lingaiah, Sabita Indra Reddy and Harshavardhan Reddy.

If Sources to be believed another Congress Lawmaker, T Jayaprakash Reddy is also expected to join TRS in coming days.

The development is seen as a big embarrassment for the party which had in national polls faced a humiliating defeat. Congress in Telangana bagged 3 Lok Sabha Seats out of 17.

Currently, TRS is heading a government with 103 MLAs, AIMIM has 7, while Congress is now left with 6, TDP and BJP has one each MLA.

While TPCC Chief Uttam Kumar Reddy expressed displeasure and said to approach court over the issue. Talking to ANI, Reddy said, ‘The Speaker hasn’t withheld the dignity of his office. We tried to contact him by every means but he wasn’t available for us’.

Congress also protested outside Assembly over the unavailability of the Speaker. They alleged that in some secret place the speaker took some representation from defected Congress MLAs against whom disqualification notices under anti-defection law are pending with him, and announces a merger of Congress Legislature Party.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest News

Jharkhand elections : PM Modi accuses opposition parties for slow-paced development of state

Addressing a public gathering in Hazaribagh's Barhi on December 9, Prime Minister Narendra Modi launched a scathing attack on...

Amit Shah tables Citizenship (Amendment) Bill), 2019 in Lok Sabha; Opposition rejects bill and terms it as “unconstitutional”

Union Home Minister Amit Shah tabled the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill), 2019 in the Lower House of the Parliament on December 9. The introduction of...

Eknath Khadse to meet BJP’s central leadership to discuss next move

According to the confirmed source, BJP veteran leader Eknath Khadse from Maharashtra is expected to meet the central leadership of the party for his...

SBI cuts one-year MCLR by 10 base points, home loans to get cheaper

After this cut, SBI's one-year MCLR comes down to 7.90% per annum from 8.00% per annum

A week after announcing all-in-one plans, Reliance Jio re-launches Rs 98 & Rs 149 prepaid plans

These two popular plans were pulled out by the company last week and a new all-in-one plan with hiked mobile tariffs and limited IUC minutes was announced.
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This