The Indian Wire » Politics » Rajasthan Polls: 17 sitting ministers lost their seats under anti-incumbency wave
News Politics

Rajasthan Polls: 17 sitting ministers lost their seats under anti-incumbency wave

tensed amit shah

At least 17 sitting ministers of the ruling Vasundhara Raje led Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) lost their seats in Rajasthan Assembly Elections, indicated the level of anti-incumbency the party faced this time.

State agriculture minister Prabhu Lal Saini lost his Anta seat with a margin of over 34,000 votes. Sports minister Gajendra Singh Khivsar lost from Lohwat seat. Public works department and Transport minister Younus Khan, who was facing Congress State Chief Sachin Pilot in Muslim-dominated Tonk had to face defeat. Pilot bags the seat with a margin of 54,179 seats.

Tribal area minister Hemant Meena lost the Pratapgarh seat to Congress’s Ramlal, who bagged 100,625 votes and won with a margin of 16,668 votes.

While Industries minister Rajpal Singh Shekhawat lost the Jhotwara seat with a margin of over 10,000 votes.

Among other Ministers who lost their seats include, Water resources minister Rampratap, Minister Hem Singh Bhadana from the Thangazi constituency. Bhadana was in the fray as an independent candidate after quitting Safron brigade a few months back! Urban Development Minister Srichand Kriplani from Nimbahera, Revenue Minister Amra Ram from Pachpadra, Art and Culture Minister Krishnendra Kaur lost Nadbai seat to a BSP Candidate.

Minister Ajay Sigh Kilak lost the Degana constituency to his Congress rival Vijaypal Mirdaha, who got 75,362 votes and won with a margin of 21,538 votes. Social justice and minority affairs minister Arun Chaturvedi lost the Civil Lines (Jaipur) seat to Congress’s Pratap Singh Khachariyawas, who secured 87,937 votes and won with a margin of 18,078 votes.

Mines minister Surender Pal Singh lost the Karanpur seat with a margin of 28,376 votes. State minister Otaram Devasi faced a defeat in the Sirohi constituency at the hands of independent candidate Sanyam Lodha, who got 81,272 votes and won with a margin of 10,253 votes.

Minister Banshidhar Bajiya lost the Khandela seat to independent candidate Mahadeo Singh, who got 53,864 votes and won with a margin of 4,348 votes. Minister Sushil Katara lost Chorasi seat to Bhartiya Tribal Party candidate Rajkumar Roat, who got 64,119 votes and won with a margin of 12,934 votes.

Minister Kamsa also lost Bhopalgarh seat to Rashtriya Loktantrik Party Candidate Pukhraj, who got 68,386 votes. His won by a margin of 22,584 votes.

Congress won 99 seats in total out of 199 in 200 assembly seat state, whereas BJP bagged 73  seats. ‘Others’ including BSP, SP,RLD and rebels from both parties who were in the fray as an independents bag  27 total seats.

ALSO READ: BSP Supremo extends its support to Congress in a bid to keep BJP away from Power.

About the author


Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!