4 Assembly, 2 Rajya Sabha seats set to fall vacant in Gujarat after Lok Sabha poll victory

Four Assembly Seats and two Rajya Sabha seats will fall vacant in Gujarat as incumbents have elected to Lok Sabha in recently held national polls 2019. The two Rajya Sabha Seats include one of BJP Chief Amit Shah and another one is of Smriti Irani.

Shah has been elected as MP from Gandhinagar Lok Sabha Seat while Irani turn out to be a giant killer after defeating Congress Chief Rahul Gandhi from his stronghold Amethi by 55,000 votes.

Both Shah and Irani were elected to Rajya Sabha for six years in August 2017.

Apart from these two Rajya Sabha MPs, 4 MLAs – three from Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and one Independent Lawmaker have also elected to the Lower House of the parliament. Thus, vacating 4 Assembly seat in the state.

As per rules, they have to resign as a legislator within the 14 days of electing to the Lok Sabha. These seats will have to be filled with by-polls within 6 months

4 MLAs include: Bharatsinh Dabhi of Kheralu Assembly seat in Mehsana district won the Lok Sabha Polls from Patan Parliamentary Constituency. Parabat Patel of Tharad seat in Banaskantha elected to Lok Sabha from Banaskantha Parliamentary Constituency.

Hasmukh Patel of Amraiwadi seat in Ahmedabad city is set to enter Lok Sabha from Ahmeddabad-East Parliamentary Constituency. An Independent MLA Ratansinh Rathod of Lunawada Assembly seat in Mahisagar is the fourth legislators won the Lok Sabha Polls. are the four who won the 2019 Lok Sabha polls. Rathod won the recently held polls from Panchmahal Lok Sabha Seat.

The Bharatiya Janata Party in the recently held national polls has secured 303 seats, and along with its allies, the NDA took it’s tally up to 352 seats. In 2014 national polls, BJP had won 281 Lok Sabha Seats.

In Gujarat, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) bag all 26 Lok Sabha Seat, while Congress drew a blank from the state.


Lok Sabha Elections 2019: State-wise list of winning candidates on all 542 Candidates


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here