Defection continues in TMC; 4 more Leaders including MLA Manirul Islam join BJP

Defection in the Mamata Banerjee‘s Trinamool Congress continued on Wednesday with four more TMC Leaders jumped ship to join Bharatiya Janata Party days after it registered a landslide victory.

Trinamool Congress Lawmaker Manirul Islam on Wednesdat joined Bharatiya Janata Party in Delhi. At a press conference, senior BJP leaders Mukul Roy and Kailash Vijaywargiya also announced that TMC Leaders and former MLA from Nanur Assembly Gadadhar Hazra, Mohd Asif Iqbal and Nimai Das are also joining the saffron party.

Kailash Vijaywargiya took to Twitter to welcome all. ‘All of you in the BJP are welcome!!! Disturbed by the inside suffocation, MLA from the Salapur seat in Birbhum District, Mr. Maniul Islam Ji and the chairman of the youth wing of Trinamool Birbhum, Jaghar Hazara Ji, general Secretary Mohammad Asif Iqbal Ji and young leader Nimay das Ji joined BJP today’, Vijaywargiya said in a tweet.

The development comes a day after three Bengal MLAs, – two from TMC and one from CPI-M, and over 50 councillors, on Tuesday joined Bharatiya Janata Party.

ALSO READ: BJP gains big in West Bengal after poll victory; 3 MLAs and over 50 Councillors join party

Among those who joined hands with Saffron party on Tuesday include son of Mukul Roy, Subhrangshu Roy who was sacked by TMC for ‘anti-parties’ activites.

Kailash Vijaywargiya on Tuesday claimed that such joining from TMC will continue. Speaking in the press conference where over 55 Leaders joined BJP. West Bengal State In-Charge Vijaywargiya said that just like the elections were held in seven phases in West Bengal, joinings in BJP will also happen in seven phases. Today was just the first phase, he told on media on Tuesday.

Earlier in a run-up to the polls, many Leaders from Mamata’s TMC including Arjun Singh, Anupam Hazra among others had joined Bharatiya Janata Party.

The Bharatiya Janata Party in the recently concluded national polls made a big dent in Mamata’s Stronghold West Bengal. The saffron party managed to give a big jolt to Mamata Banerjee‘s TMC by winning 18 seats out of total 42 Lok Sabha Seats of the state.

Bharatiya Janata Party has also improved its vote share from 17% in 2014 to over 40% in recently held national polls.

The State ruling Trinamool Congress won 22 seats down from 34 in 2014.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi-led Bharatiya Janata Party, on May 23 scripted history once again by bagging 303 seats on its own in the recently concluded national polls. Along with its allies, it took its tally to 352 Lok Sabha Seats out of 542 Seats were national polls held in April-May in seven phases.


Narendra Modi’s swearing-in ceremony [Live Updates]: West Bengal CM Mamata Banerjee to attend mega event


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here