The Indian Wire » Politics » Lok Sabha Polls 2019: 573 Candidates throw hat for 26 Seats of Gujarat; Check all prominent faces in Fray
News Politics

Lok Sabha Polls 2019: 573 Candidates throw hat for 26 Seats of Gujarat; Check all prominent faces in Fray

Gujarat Poll Officials on Friday said that a total of 573 candidates to be in the fray for all 26 Parliamentary Seats of the state that will go to polls in a single round of Polling that slated for April 23.

The last day to file nominations was April 4, till 3 pm. The nomination forms will now undergo scrutiny and the last date to withdrawal is April 8, Monday. Thursday, the last day of nominations saw 313 candidates filing nominations. While April 8, March is the last day to withdraw nomination forms.

Ashok Manek, the Chief Electoral Officer said, ‘A total of 573 Candidates have filed nominations for all 26 Parliamentary Seat, Out of which 313 Candidates have filed nominations on the last day of filing nominations’.

Prominent Faces who are in the fray for April 18 polling day include:

  • Amit Shah from Gandhinagar
  • Jasvantsinh Bhabhor from Dahod
  • Geetaben Rathva from Chota Udaipur
  • Paresh Dhanani from Amreli
  • Babu Katara from Dahod

All the 26 Parliamentary Seats of Gujarat will go polls on April 23, in a single round of polling.

READ: Check Out Full list of Congress Candidates for Lok Sabha Polls 2019

Bharatiya Janata Party who has a stronghold in the state will take on Congress in the upcoming mega battle of ballots. Congress, unlike the previous poll, is contesting all seats in the state on its own. Nationalist Congress party has also named its Candidates on all 26 seats of the state.

Congress in 2014 General elections had forged an alliance with Sharad Pawar‘s NCP and had offered the parliamentary seat of Porbandar. However, NCP is contesting the mega battle of ballots on its own this time around.

Election Commission had on March 10 declared schedule for General Elections 2019.

Lok Sabha Polls are slated to begin from April 11 and would spread on Seven Phases starting from April 11 to May 19.

Counting of Votes and Results for the mega Battle of ballots will be announced on May 23 four days after the 7th phase of voting.


Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!