The Indian Wire » Politics » Lok Sabha Polls 2019: ABP-Neilson Survey predicts big gain for BJP In West Bengal; But TMC Still Number One
News Politics

Lok Sabha Polls 2019: ABP-Neilson Survey predicts big gain for BJP In West Bengal; But TMC Still Number One

Bharatiya Janata Party in a run-up to the mega battle of ballots is expected to gain heavy in Mamata Banerjee‘s Bastion West Bengal, predicted a survey conducted by the ABP News-Nielsen’s latest Opinion Poll. However, its Mamata Banerjee’s Trinamool Congress who would keep a lion share of seats in the state that sends 42 parliamentarians.

According to the Opinion Poll by Pollster Nielsen and News Channel, the saffron party will win 8 parliamentary seats in the next month’s national elections 2019 against its 2 in the previous elections held in 2014.

While the Survey predicted that the West Bengal ruling party Trinamool Congress will have its upper hand in 31 Lok Sabha Seats out of the total 42 seats of the state. TMC is predicted to lose three seats in comparison to what it had in 2014. TMC had in 2014 bagged 34 seats.

The Opinion Poll also predicted Congress losing a seat and has been predicted to win three parliamentary seats against its 4 in the previous national elections.

READ: Full list of Congress Candidates for Lok Sabha Polls 2019

The CPI(M) who has in a run-up to mega polls leading left front is expected to draw blank in its erstwhile bastion. CPM had in 2014 bagged Lok Sabha Seats.

Here is the Seat Wise Projection along with 2014 General elections Results

Cooch Behar – TMC (2014 Results – TMC)
Alipurduar – BJP (2014 Results – TMC)
Jalpaiguri – TMC (2014 Results – TMC)
Raiganj – BJP (2014 Results – CPM)
Balurghat -BJP (2014 Results – TMC)
Bahrampur – Congress  (2014 Results – Congress)
Murshidabad – TMC (2014 Results – CPM)
Krishnanagar – BJP (2014 Results – TMC)
Ranaghat – TMC (2014 Results – TMC)
Bangaon – BJP (2014 Results – TMC)
Barrackpore – BJP (2014 Results – TMC)
Barasat – TMC (2014 Results – TMC)
Basirhat – TMC (2014 Results – TMC)
Jaynagar – TMC (2014 Results – TMC)
Mathurapur – TMC (2014 Results – TMC)
Srirampur – TMC (2014 Results – TMC)
Hoogly – TMC (2014 Results – TMC)
Arambag – TMC (2014 Results – TMC)
Tamluk – TMC (2014 Results – TMC)
Kanthi -TMC (2014 Results – TMC)
Ghatal – TMC (2014 Results – TMC)
Medinipur – TMC (2014 Results – TMC)
Bishnupur – TMC (2014 Results – TMC) (2014 Results – TMC)
Bardhaman (East) (Purba) – TMC (2014 Results – TMC)
Bardhaman-Durgapur – TMC (2014 Results – TMC)
Bolpur -TMC (2014 Results – TMC)

Kolkata: All 7 seats

Kolkata South -TMC (2014 Results – TMC)
Kolkata North-TMC (2014 Results – TMC)
Howrah -TMC (2014 Results – TMC)
Uluberia -TMC (2014 Results – TMC)
Diamond Harbour -TMC (2014 Results – TMC)
Jadhavpur -TMC (2014 Results – TMC)
Dum Dum-TMC (2014 Results – TMC)

Naxal affected regions: 4 Seats

Jhargram  – TMC (2014 Results – TMC)
Purulia – TMC (2014 Results – TMC)
Bankura – TMC (2014 Results – TMC)
Birbhum – TMC (2014 Results – TMC)

Major cities: 5 Seats

Darjeeling – BJP (2014 Results – BJP)
Asansol – BJP (2014 Results -BJP)
Jangipur – Congress (2014 Results – Congress)
Malda (North) – TMC (2014 Results – TMC)
Malda (South) – Congress (2014 Results – TMC)

READ: Check out the full list of BJP Candidates for Lok Sabha Polls 2019

In 2014 General Elections, TMC bagged 34, BJP and CPM 2 each while 4 seats of Baharampur, Jangipur, Malda North and Malda South.

Ruling Trinamool Congress has already announced its candidates on all 42 Lok Sabha seats with over 40% tickets distributed to female candidates. While Bhartiya Janta Party who is currently busy in catching bigwigs from TMC and Congress in the state also started rolling out the names of candidates for the mega battle.

The Polling in all 42 Lok Sabha seats of the state will spread in all seven phases starting from April 11.

General Elections 2019 are slated April-May that will spread in 7 seven phases starting from April 11. Results for the crucial Lok Sabha Polls will be announced on May 23 four days after the 7th phase of voting.


About the author


Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!