The Indian Wire » Politics » Congress Leader in Lok Sabha Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury appointed as Chairman of Public Accounts Committee (PAC)

Congress Leader in Lok Sabha Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury appointed as Chairman of Public Accounts Committee (PAC)


Congress leader in Lok Sabha and West Bengal MP Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury on Thursday was appointed as the chairmanship of Public Accounts Committee (PAC) of Parliament.

As per the tradition, the post of PAC of the parliament goes to the main opposition party. The Indian National Congress, with 52 MPs, is the second-largest party in the Lok Sabha. The Public Accounts Committee (PAC) has 15 members from Lok Sabha while seven are from the Rajya Sabha.

The maximum term of the members is one year. Chowdhury was elected for PAC few days backs along with Jayant Sinha and Satyapal Singh.

Public Accounts Committee (PAC) of Parliament is a committee responsible for auditing the revenue and expenditure of the Union Government. The Parliament has three financial standing committees including the Public Accounts Committee (PAC), Estimates Committee (EC) and  Committee on Public Undertakings (COPU).

The other members elected to the committee from Lok Sabha were — TR Baalu
(DMK), Subhash Chandra Baheria, Sudheer Gupta, Darshana Vikram Jardosh, Ajay
(Teni) Misra, Jagadambika Pal, Vishnu Dayal Ram, Ram Kripal Yadav (all BJP),
Bhartruhari Mahtab (BJD), Rahul Ramesh Shewale (Shiv Sena), Rajiv Ranjan Singh
(JD-U) and Balashowry Vallabbhaneni (YSRC Party).

Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury will replace Congress Stalwart Mallikarjun Kharge who was the Leader of the party in the 16th Lok Sabha and was the Chairperson of Public Accounts Committee (PAC) of Parliament. In the recently held national polls, Mallikarjun Kharge fails to score and lost from Gulbarga Lok Sabha Seat in Karnataka.

Earlier this month, Twenty-Nine MPs elected ‘unopposed’ to the 30-member committee on Estimates. Lok Sabha MP Danish Ali, Dayanidhi Maran, KC Patel, PP Choudhary, Rajeev Pratap Rudy, Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore, Parvesh Verma, Dilip Ghosh, Kamlesh Paswan are among those elected to the Committee on Estimates.


About the author


Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!