AIADMK names New Justice Party Chief AC Shanmugam for Vellore Lok Sabha Polls

AC Shanmugam, President of New Justice Party

The State ruling AIADMK on Saturday announced AC Shanmugam, President of New Justice Party, as an alliance candidate for Tamil Nadu’s Vellore Lok Sabha constituency where elections are scheduled to be held on 5 August.

AC Shanmugam is a former All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) politician. He Won in 1984 Parliament Election with 52.93% of votes for ADMK.

The DMK has not yet named its candidate for the polls that were earlier canceled.

The Election Commission of India, earlier this week on Tuesday, announced August 5, 2019, as the date of polling for the Vellore Parliamentary constituency of Tamil Nadu. The Poll Commission had earlier canceled the election for the Parliamentary Constituency in wake of seizures of a huge amount of unaccounted cash from the house of DMK Leader.

In an Income Tax raid on April 29, ahead of the polls, a total of Rs 12 crore in cash was seized from the premises of DMK Veteran leader and party treasurer, Duraimurugan’s son Kathir Anand in Vellore. The polls were deferred following as huge money was set to influence the voters.

The seizures also include the printouts of the papers with wards number written on them that were evidence of the alleged use of cash to influence the voters and buy votes.

Vellore was earlier slated to go for polls on April 18 along with all other 38 Lok Sabha Seats of the State. However, following the incident, the polls were deferred in the Vellore Lok Sabha Seat.

The Election Commission, based on the report of the Chief Electoral Officer, had written to President Ram Nath Kovind who later gave its nod to defer the polling in the Vellore Lok Sabha Seat.

In the national polls that concluded on May 23, DMK, who led the Secular Progressive Alliance of which Congress, communist parties, Vaiko’s MDMK and Dalit outfit VCK were a part, had won 38 of the 39 Parliamentary seats that went to polls in Tamil Nadu and Puducherry.

AIADMK led Alliance of which BJP was a part lost all seats of Tamul Nadu and Puducherry with Panneerselvam’s son, P Raveendranath was the only exception who won from Theni constituency.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here