All-party Chiefs meeting chaired by PM Modi over ‘One Nation, One Election’ begins at Parliament

Must Read

Sanju Samson to replace Shikhar Dhawan in T20 series against WI

Sanju Samson will replace injured Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan in the T20s series against West Indies starting from next...

Supreme Court lashes out on Centre & Delhi govts for Rising Pollution

The Apex Court of the Country, the Supreme Court on Monday lashed the Central and State Government for their...

Harbhajan Singh wishes BCCI Prez Sourav Ganguly to change Selection Panel

The Indian off-spinner Harbhajan Singh on Monday urged Sourav Ganguly, President of BCCI (The Board of Control for Cricket...
Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

The meeting of all party Presidents under the chairmanship of Prime Minister Narendra Modi begins at the Parliament. The meeting is called to discuss the proposed idea of ‘One Nation, One Election’ among others including NITI Aayog‘s proposal for developing ‘Aspirational Districts’.

The meeting was attended by JD-U Chief Nitish Kumar, National Conference President Farooq Abdullah, YSRCP Boss Jagan Mohan Reddy, Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) President Sukhbir Singh Badal, BJD‘s Naveen Patnaik, among others. While PDP Chief Mehbooba Mufti was also present in the meeting of all-party Chiefs.

DMK and other Tamil Parties who were a party of Congress alliance like IUML also attended the party called by Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Other prominent faces who attended the meeting include Rahul Gandhi, Sonia Gandhi, K Suresh, Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury of Congress, TR Balu and Kanimozhi from DMK, Supriya Sule of NCP, Thirumaavalan Thol (VCK), NK Premachandran (RSP), PK Kunhalikutty (IUML), and Thomas Chazhikadan of KC-M.

The Congress-led UPA, Mayawati and Mamata Banerjee have opposed the idea of ‘One Nation and One Election’. Leader of Congress Party in Lok Sabha Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury speaking to ANI after the meeting of party top brasses on Tuesday said that his party is against such idea.

While BSP Supremo Mayawati termed this as an attempt to divert the attention from real burning issues like poverty, price rise, and others.

READ: BSP Supremo Mayawati opposes ‘One Nation, One Election’ Idea; to skip all-party meet called by PM Modi

Among many leaders who skipped the meeting include Mayawati who joined the list of other opposition leaders including Mamata BanerjeeChandrababu Naidu, KCR and DMK Chief MK Stalin who have announced to skip the meeting of all party chiefs called by Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Mamata Banerjee had on Tuesday written to Union Parliamentary Affairs Minister Pralhad Joshi informing that she will not the attend the meeting called by PM Modi to discuss the ‘One Nation and One Election’ plan.

While Guntur MP Jayadev Galla of TDP has been tasked by Chandrababu Naidu to attend the meeting on behalf of Telugu Desam Party.

Samajwadi Party President Akhilesh Yadav who also skipped the meeting opposed the One Nation, One Election Idea. Talking to ANI, Yadav said, ‘They should focus on the promises they have made to people, we hope they will work more on fulfilling those promises. Decisions like One Nation One Election, there are many parties that will never agree to it’.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest News

Citizenship Amendment Bill, 2019 : In yet another midnight debate, Lok Sabha creates history

The controversial Citizenship (Amendment) Bill 2019, which seeks to give Indian citizenship to non-Muslim refugees from Pakistan, Bangladesh and...

Lok Sabha passes Citizenship (Amendment) Bill with thumping majority

The Lok Sabha on Monday passed the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill, 2019 after a six-hour long debate which saw a fiery speech by Union Home...

Jharkhand elections : PM Modi accuses opposition parties for slow-paced development of state

Addressing a public gathering in Hazaribagh's Barhi on December 9, Prime Minister Narendra Modi launched a scathing attack on the opposition parties for the...

Amit Shah tables Citizenship (Amendment) Bill), 2019 in Lok Sabha; Opposition rejects bill and terms it as “unconstitutional”

Union Home Minister Amit Shah tabled the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill), 2019 in the Lower House of the Parliament on December 9. The introduction of...

Eknath Khadse to meet BJP’s central leadership to discuss next move

According to the confirmed source, BJP veteran leader Eknath Khadse from Maharashtra is expected to meet the central leadership of the party for his...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This