The Indian Wire » Politics » Lok Sabha Polls: Amit Shah to address 2 rallies in Jammu-Kashmir today; many Union Ministers set to visit valley
News Politics

Lok Sabha Polls: Amit Shah to address 2 rallies in Jammu-Kashmir today; many Union Ministers set to visit valley

Intensifying its hunt to retain power at Centre, Bharatiya Janata Party Chief Amit Shah will address two rallies in Jammu and Kashmir on Wednesday, the state where BJP will hunt to do better and maintain the seats that they had won in 2014.

BJP President Shah in his day visit to Valley will address two rallies, one in Jammu-Poonch and other in Udhampur-Doda parliamentary constituencies.

Both the parliamentary seats of Jammu and Udhampur was bagged by the saffron party in 2014 National elections. Bharatiya Janata Party in a run-up to the mega battle of ballots has fielded same candidates who will seek another term in the office.

The Saffron party has named Jugal Kishore from Jammu-Poonch Seat while Union Minister Jitender Singh from Udhampur-Doda parliamentary constituency.

A Bharatiya Janata Party spokesperson informing about Shah visit said, ‘BJP President will address rallies in Udhampur and Sunderbani area in Rajouri district on Wednesday seeking support for Candidates in a run-up to the general elections.

Apart from Amit Shah, BJP has tasked its star campaigners including Union Minister Nitin Gadkari, Nirmala Sithraman, Rajnath Singh to hit the valley to galvanize support for party candidates.

The party has already announced candidates on 5 seats with MM War from Baramulla, Khalid Jahangir from Srinagar, Sofi Yousaf from Anantnag, Dr. Jitendra Singh from Udhampur and Jugal Kishore Sharma from Jammu.

In 2014 General Elections, banking on Modi wave, BJP had won three seats – Udhampur, Jammu and Ladakh Parliamentary Seats.

In Jammu and Kashmir, the BJP will take on the Mehbooba Mufti-led PDP, and National Conference who has announced its friendly tie-up with Indian National Congress.

Polling in six seats of Jammu and Kashmir will take place in five rounds. Polling in Anantnag Parliamentary Seat will take place in three phases – April 23, April 29 and May 6.

While Baramulla and Jammu constituencies will go to polls in the first phase while Srinagar and Udhampur constituencies will go to polls in the second phase.


Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!


Shop on Amazon