The Indian Wire » Politics » Lok Sabha Polls: In new list, INLD names Arjun Chautala, son of Abhay Chautala from Kurukshetra
News Politics

Lok Sabha Polls: In new list, INLD names Arjun Chautala, son of Abhay Chautala from Kurukshetra

The Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) on Friday announced its second list of 3 Candidates in Haryana for ongoing national elections 2019. The party in a run-up to the mega polls declared its nominees on Kurukshetra, Bhiwani-Mahendragarh, and Rohtak. The party has named Arjun Chautala, the son of party secretary-general Abhay Chautala as its nominee from the Kurukshetra Parliamentary Seat.

While the INLD named Balwan Singh from Bhiwani-Mahendragarh Lok Sabha Seat. Singh, a former army brat currently runs his own security agency. Dharambir Singh has been named by the party for Kurukshetra Lok Sabha Seat.

Arjun Chautala will be the fourth generation of Chautala’s to enter the electoral fray. Arjun will face BJP’s Nayab Saini in the electoral ring. While Congress and AAP-JJP are yet to announce its Candidates on the seat. Arjun Chautala had completed his Class 12th from Bishop Cotton School in Shimla.

After there, he moved to the US for his Bachelors, however, he had in 2013 decided to return home after his grandfather and INLD patriarch Om Prakash Chautala and uncle Ajay Chautala were convicted on charges of corruption in the JBT teachers’ scam.

While the other two nominees that is Balwant Singh from Bhiwani-Mahendragarh will face electoral competition from Chief Minister Bansi Lal’s granddaughter Shruti Choudhry of Congress and BJP’s sitting MP Dharambir Singh. The JJP who has forged an alliance with AAP has named Swati Yadav.

READ: Lok Sabha Polls 2019: With 5 new names; INLD releases the first list of 6 Candidates in Haryana

While Dharambir Singh is named against BJP’s three-time MP Arvind Sharma, and JJP’s Pradeep Deswal. Congress yet to announce its Candidate on the seat.

With the three new names, the party has so far released the names of Candidates on 9 Lok Sabha Seats of Haryana out of 10. Party has not yet announced its nominee for the Gurugram Lok Sabha Seat.

The party had on Wednesday as a part of its first list announced 6 Candidates for the mega battle of ballots. The party in the first lits announced has announced Rampal Valmiki from Ambala, Dharamvir Pada from Karnal, Surender Chikara from Sonepat, Suresh Kauth from Hisar, Mahender Singh Chauhan from Faridabad and Charanjit Singh Rori from Sirsa.

The INLD in a run-up to the mega polls will be taking on the Bharatiya Janata PartyIndian National Congress and Aam Aadmi Party who has entered into an alliance with Dushyant Chautala’s Jananayak Janata Party (JJP).

Haryana has a total of 10 Parliamentary seats and is considered a state where BJP has a stronghold. In 2014 General Elections, banking of heavy Modi wave, BJP won 7, INLD bagged 2 seats while INC won a single seat.

Out of the two seats that party had won in 2014, one of which is Sirsa Parliamentary Seat where the party has retained its sitting MP Charanjit Singh Rori. While the other seat that party won was Hisar where Dushyant Chautala had defeated Kuldip Bishnoi of the HJC-BJP alliance by a slender margin of 30,000 votes.

The INLD is facing trouble ever since its Hisar MP Dushyant Chautala floated his own party, Jananayak Janata Party (JJP). After the spilt, INLD has failed miserably in the 2018 Jind by-poll with its candidate forfeiting his security deposit.

Haryana will vote on May 12 in a single phase to elect new parliamentarians on all 10 seats of the state.


Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!