Arunachal Polls: CM Pema Khandu meets Governor BD Mishra; recommends to dissolve Legislative Assembly

Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Pema Khandu and Union Ministers on Sunday met state Governor BD Mishra and submitted their resignation. Chief Minister along with Council of ministers also recommended to dissolve the sixth Legislative Assembly of the state.

As per the official release, Arunachal Pradesh Governor BD Mishra accepted the resignations and asked the Pema Khandu and others ministers to continue as a caretaker government till the new government is not formed.

Governor BD Mishra also signed the recommendation of Council of ministers dissolving the current and the sixth Legislative assembly of the state.

BJP MP from Arunachal West Kiren Rijiju tweeted on the massive victory. ‘History is created in Arunachal Pradesh. First-time BJP has won 41 MLA seats in 60 Assembly House. This is possible due to the visionary blessings of @narendramodi ji, the guidance of @AmitShah ji and the transformation in governance brought by the dynamic CM @PemaKhanduBJP ji’, said Rijiju in a tweet.

“Thank you people of Arunachal for your trust in @BJP4Arunachal and voting back the party. We have together made history by electing the first @BJP4India govt in Arunachal with total seat of 41. Congratulations to all! With double engine ka sarkar, good days are ahead!”, said CM Pema Khandu thanking voters.

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) with over 50% vote share is set to form its next government with a clear majority. The ruling BJP bag 41 assembly seats in the 60-member state.

The Congress with just 16% vote share won four seats while Janata Dal United JD(U) with almost 10% vote share bagged seven seats and National People’s Party (NPP) five seats.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) had also won both the Lok Sabha seats – East Arunachal and West Arunachal –  in the state.

The Bharatiya Janata Party in the recently concluded national polls has secured 303 seats, 22 more than it got in 2014. While BJP along with its allies, the NDA secured 352 seats.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here