The Indian Wire ┬╗ Politics ┬╗ Biju Janata Dal forms Election coordination committee ahead of Bijepur by-poll

Biju Janata Dal forms Election coordination committee ahead of Bijepur by-poll

For the upcoming by-poll of Bijepur assembly seat in Odisha, Biju Janata Dal has constituted a special Election coordination committee. The committee will have four members in total.

The party appointed Sushanta Singh, Kalikesh Narayan Singh Deo, Niranjan Pujari, and Sanjay Das Burma as the members of the proposed committee. The seat of Bijepur fell vacant as Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik had left the seat. He had contested from two seats in the state- Bijepur and Hinjli.

After winning from both the seats, Naveen Patnaik chose Hinjli seat and let go of Bijepur assembly. This necessitated the by-poll election.

Naveen Patnaik was selected from Hinjli seat for the fifth consecutive term.

In another development to the party line of Biju Janata Dal leadership, the state government has appointed senior party leader Subash Chauhan as the chairperson of Western Odisha Development Council. Though the party has not issued any official notification, the appointment has been confirmed by the trusted sources.

Odisha government grants Rs. 100 crores to the Western Odisha Development Council for carrying out developmental works in the region. There exists now a total of 26 members in the council, including the chairperson.

ALSO READ: Biju Janata Dal to launch membership drive from Sep 2, CM Naveen Patnaik forms a state-level committee

About the author

Saurabh Parmar

Digital Journalist (Specializing in Indian affairs & Contemporary Political development)

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!