The Indian Wire » Politics » BJD announces Candidates on 9 Lok Sabha, 54 Assembly Seat in Odisha; CM Naveen Patnaik to contest on two seats
News Politics

BJD announces Candidates on 9 Lok Sabha, 54 Assembly Seat in Odisha; CM Naveen Patnaik to contest on two seats

Naveen Patnaik

Gearing up for the Lok Sabha Polls and State Polls in Odisha that slated to be clubbed, Biju Janta Dal Chief Naveen Patnaik on Monday released the first list of 9 Lok Sabha Seats while 54 Assembly seats. Incumbent Chief Minister Patnaik in the upcoming State Polls will contest from Hinjili and Bijepur assembly constituencies.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik who has already made it clear that he will not go with an alliance and will contest polls on its own on Monday announced names for 9 Parliamentary Seats that includes:

  1. Kausalya Hikaka from Koraput (ST)
  2. Prasanna Acharya from Bargarh
  3. Sunita Biswal from Sundargarh (ST)
  4. Kalikesh Narayan Singh Deo from Balangir
  5. Achyuta Samanta from Kandhamal
  6. Pramila Bisoi from Aska Lok Sabha Seat
  7. Pramila Bisoi from Aska
  8. Puspendra Singh Deo from Kalahandi
  9. Chandra Shekhar Sahu from Berhampur

Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik said, ‘I wish them the very best & appeal to our supporters to work wholeheartedly to ensure a win’ while announcing the names of 9 Lok Sabha Seats.

Apart from announcing the list of parliamentary seats, the BJD also announced a list of 54 Assembly Seat with Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik set to contest from Hinjili and Bijepur assembly constituencies.

Apart from Chief Minister Party has fielded : Manjula Swain from Aska, Puma Chandra Swain from Surada, Nandini Devi from Sanakhemundia, Srikanta Sahu from Polasara, Latika Pradhan from Kabirsuryanagar, K K Suryamani Baidya from Khalikote, Chakradhar Kanhar from Baliguda, Saluga Pradhan from G Udaygiri Assembly Constituency among others.

Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik said, ‘Keeping the best interest of our people & #Odisha, @bjd_Odisha has chosen it’s MLA candidates for the ensuing #OdishaElections2019. I wish them the very best and urge all groups and our supporters to work in unison to ensure a thumping victory’ he said in a tweet while attaching the list of 54 Candidates for the Assembly Elections.

BJD in a run-up to the polls will take on aggressive Bhartiya Janta Party and Congress who has inked an alliance with Jharkhand Mukti Morcha.

General Elections are slated for April-May this year that would spread on Seven Phases starting from April 11 to May 19. Election Commission had on Sunday declared schedule for General Elections 2019.

The Counting of votes for the mega battle of ballots will take place on May 23, four days after last round of polling.

The Odisha State Polls will be clubbed with the General Elections 2019. The State will Poll in four rounds of Polling starting from April 11. The State has a total of 147 State Assembly while having 21 Lok Sabha Seats.

In 2014 General Elections, BJD totally swept the state by bagging 20 seats out of 21 seats while banking on ‘Modi Wave’ the saffron party could only manage to get 1 Lok Sabha Seat in the state.


About the author


Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!