BJD names candidates for by-polls on 2 Rajya Sabha seats; extends support to BJP for third seat

The Odisha ruling Biju Janata Dal on Friday announced its two candidates for the by-polls for Rajya Sabha Seats while extended support to BJP Nominee for the third Seat. Naveen Patnaik-led Biju Janata Dal (BJD) named Amar Patnaik and Sasmit Patra as its candidates for two Rajya Sabha Seats.

The party will back BJP Candidate Ashiwini Vaishnab for the third seat Rajya Sabha.

Biju Janata Dal president Naveen Patnaik said Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP chief Amit Shah had spoken to him regarding the party’s support to BJP Nominee

The Rajya Sabha Seats in the State fell vacant after four MPs of the upper House resigned after they elected to the 17th Lok Sabha or to the State Assembly. The MPs who resigned from the Upper House are – Achyuta Samant, Soumya Ranjan Patnaik, and PK Deb.

Despite the fact that 4 Rajya Sabha seats were fell vacant, the Poll Commission had only issued the notification for filling up three Rajya Sabha Seats. Sources claimed that the tenure of the fourth seat was about to end in a year. The by-elections on the Rajya Sabha seats are slated for July 5.

Earlier the BJD was among the first ones who extended the support to BJP nominee for the Lok Sabha Speaker post, Om Birla.

While looking at Biju Janata Dal candidates, Amar Patnaik is an IT Cell Chief of Naveen Patnaik’s party. He had joined BJD last year after resigning from the post of the accountant general of Odisha.

While the second nominee, Sasmit Patra is a party’s spokesperson and an academician.

In the 147-member assembly, Biju Janata Dal has 112 seats, while BJP 23, Congress 9 and one each bag by CPI-M and Independent Candidate in the state polls concluded last month. While in national polls, BJD won 12, BJP managed to make inroads in the state with its victory on 8 Lok Sabha Seats while Congress only won a lone seat of Koraput.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here