BJP announces candidate for Rajya Sabha by-poll to Karnataka and Uttar Pradesh seat

For the upcoming bye-polls to the 2 seats of Upper House (Rajya Sabha), Bhartiya Janta Party has announced its candidates. The election to the two seats is slated to take place on December 12. Counting of votes will take place on that day only but after the polling is done.

According to the latest release by the saffron party, Arun Singh will be fielded as the BJP‘s candidate from Uttar Pradesh seat for the Council of States. Uttar Pradesh’s seat fell vacant after Samajwadi Party leader Tazeen Fatma had resigned to contest the Rampur assembly by-poll. That seat was earlier represented by her husband Azam Khan.

For another seat in Karnataka, the party has decided to field Congress rebel KC Ramamurthy as the party’s candidate. Karnataka seat fell vacant after the Congress member KC Ramamurthy had resigned to join the Bhartiya Janta Party.

The tenure of KC Ramamurthy was earlier scheduled to end on June 30, 2022, while the term of Tazeen Fatma was slated to end on November 25, 2020.

ALSO READ: Rajya Sabha passes Transgender Persons (Protection of Rights) Bill, 2019; Many leaders demand to refer it to Select Committee


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here