Ending months-long Tussle; Apna Dal(S) sorted all with BJP ahead of Lok Sabha Polls, to contest 2 seats in UP

After months-long rough patches with its allies in Uttar Pradesh, Bhartiya Janta Party on Friday managed to sort out all differences with Anupriya Patel led Apna Dal (Sonlel) in Uttar Pradesh. The Ally who has recently threatened to pull out from National Democratic Alliance came to a common understanding after Union Minister and Apna Dal Leader Anupriya Patel held talks with Bhartiya Janta Party President Amit Shah.

After both held parleys for the General Elections 2019, it has been announced that Apna Dal (S) will field its Candidates on two Lok Sabha seats in the state that sends 80 MPs to the Lok Sabha.

Apna Dal Leader Anurpriya Patel will contest from the same parliamentary constituency of Mirzapur while the decision on the second seat has not been taken yet.

With the Resolution of ‘Fir Ek baar Modi Sarkar’, The BJP-Apna Dal alliance will contest the Lok Sabha elections in Uttar Pradesh together Apna Dal will contest on two seats, in which Anupriya Patel will contest from Mirzapur seat. The decision on the second seat will be taken by leaders of the two parties,” tweeted Amit Shah following his meeting with Apna Dal Leader.

The Development came as a relief to Bhartiya Janta Party who has been in tension with its allies deserting the coalitions and at the time when BJP is expected to lose big in Uttar Pradesh with SPBSP coming together as predicted by many opinion polls.

Apna Dal (S) and BJP were facing issues over months on different aspects and the former is not happy with the way the BJP is treating its allies. While the Party has also managed to end rough patches with Om Prakash Rajbhar’s SBSP.

General Elections are slated for April-May this year that would spread on Seven Phases starting from April 11 to May 19. Election Commission had on Sunday declared schedule for General Elections 2019.

Polls in 80 Lok Sabha seats of the state will spread on all seven phases. In 2014 General Elections, BJP led NDA banking on heavy Modi wave bagged 73 seats, while Congress to save its two bastions – Amethi and Rae Bareli. Samajwadi Party only secured 5 seats with its Founder Mulayam Singh contesting from two seats. Mayawati led BSP could not open its account.

Apna Dal contested two seats in 2014 Lok Sabha Polls and have 9 MLAs in the state assembly.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here