BJP fields its candidate to fight Congress for Karnataka Speaker’s post

The war between Bharatiya Janata Party and Congress might have ended up in the latter’s favor, but their fight is all set to be reignited when newly-elected legislators of Karnataka will vote to decide who will sit on the assembly speaker’s chair for the next five years.

Congress party’s candidate for the speaker’s chair is K.R. Ramesh Kumar, who has already held this post before from 1994 to 1999. He was accompanied by new deputy chief minister G. Parameshwara and former CM Siddaramaiah when he went to submit his nomination papers in the assembly secretariat.

On the other hand, BJP fielded senior leader S. Suresh Kumar, who filed his papers in the presence of MLAs C.N. Ashwathnarayan and V. Sunil Kumar just hours after the Congress candidate did the same. When he asked how he expects to be elected if BJP does not have enough MLAs to counter Congress’ candidate, Suresh Kumar said the vote for the speaker’s post will be held in the afternoon today and its outcome will be clear only after it concludes.

Reacting to BJP’s bid for the speaker’s post, deputy chief minister Parameshwara said BJP must withdraw its candidate as Congress’ Ramesh Kumar should ideally be elected unopposed provided his credentials as a veteran legislator and a former speaker of Karnataka assembly.

Voting for the speaker’s post will take place today before the crucial trust vote against Kumaraswamy’s JD(S)-Congress coalition government. The deputy speaker will be decided after this, and JD(S) is said to be been given the choice by Congress to field its own candidate for this position.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here