The Indian Wire » Politics » Lok Sabha Polls 2019: BJP MP from Ranchi Ramtahal Chaudhary quits party after being Denied Ticket; to Contest as Independent
News Politics

Lok Sabha Polls 2019: BJP MP from Ranchi Ramtahal Chaudhary quits party after being Denied Ticket; to Contest as Independent

In a major blow to Bharatiya Janata Party in Jharkhand ahead of national elections 2019, its Member of parliament from Ranchi Parliamentary Seat Ramtahal Chaudhary announced his disassociation from the party after failed to get a ticket for the mega Polls 2019.

Chaudhary, a six times parliamentarian from Ranchi Lok Sabha Seat after announcing his resignation asserted that he will contest from the seat as an Independent Candidate in the mega battle of ballots.

Talking to media, Ramtahal Chaudhary said that he has resigned from the primary membership of the party and has tendered his resignation to Jharkhand Party Chief Laxman Gilua. Further revealing details about his candidature, He said he will file his nominations for Ranchi Lok Sabha Seat on April 16.

READ: Here is the Full List of Candidates announced by BJP-Led NDA

His resignation came days after he has been replaced by Sanjay Sethi for Ranchi Parliamentary Seat. The party in a run-up to the mega polls 2019 has named Jharkhand Khadi Gramodyog Board Chairman Sethi from the Parliamentary Seat.

Chaudhary further training guns towards said that party despite representing the seat for many terms party did not even consult him before finalising Candidate.

Voting to 14 Lok Sabha Seats of the state will take place in four phases- April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19. With Ranchi going to polls on May 6.

Jharkhand will witness a fight between the Congress-led alliance in the State taking on the ruling Bhartiya Janta Party in the upcoming Lok Sabha Polls 2019. The BJP in the state has forged an alliance with All Jharkhand Students’ Union (AJSU) and has offered a single Lok Sabha Seat.

While Congress has formed an alliance with Jharkhand Mukti Morcha, Jharkhand Vikas Morcha and Rashtriya Janata Dal.

In 2014 General Elections, Bhartiya Janta Party banking on ‘Modi Wave’ bagged 7 seats, while JMM and JVM settled for 2 Lok Sabha Seat each. While the remaining seats were bagged by Independent Candidates.

Mega Battle of Ballots has already started with voting for Phase I is underway at 91 Lok Sabha Seats, General Elections 2019 spread on Seven Phases starting from April 11 to May 19. Election Commission had on March 10 declared schedule for General Elections 2019.

Results for the crucial Lok Sabha Polls will be announced on May 23 four days after the 7th phase of voting.


Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!