Lok Sabha Polls 2019: In new list, BJP names Gautam Gambhir from Delhi East, Meenakshi Lekhi from New Delhi

The Bharatiya Janata Party on Monday announced another list of Candidates for Delhi in a run-up to the national elections 2019. The Bharatiya Janata Party in its latest list named Candidates on New Delhi and Delhi East Lok Sabha Seat.

The party in the list replaced sitting MP Mahesh Giri with cricketer-turned-politician Gautam Gambhir. While its sitting MP Meenakshi Lekhi has been named from New Delhi Lok Sabha Seat seeking another term in the Lok Sabha Polls 2019.

Gautam Gambhir in a run-up to the national elections will take on AAP’s Atishi and Congress’ Arvinder Singh Lovely. Currently, the seat is held by BJP‘s Mahesh Giri. In 2014 General Elections, Mahesh Giri won the seat with almost 2 lakh votes by defeating AAP’s Rajmohan Gandhi. Sandeep Dixit with a loss of over 43% votes ended up on the third spot in the tally. Sandeep Dixit had in 2009 and 2004 represented the Delhi East Lok Sabha.

Gautam Gambhir had on March 22 joined Bharatiya Janata Party in presence of Union Minister Arun Jaitley. Gambhir tweeted, ‘Many thanks sir, will need your guidance and support’ while quoting the tweet of sitting MP Mahesh Giri.

While for New Delhi Lok Sabha Seat, party’s sitting MP Meenakshi Lekhi will take on AAP’s Brijesh Goyal and Congress Ajay Maken. Lekhi had in 2014 defeated AAP’s Ashish Khetan with over 1.60 Lakh votes.

Bharatiya Janata Party with this has announced its candidates on 411 seats. The party had on Sunday announced four candidates in Delhi fielding Dr. Harshvardhan from Chandni Chowk, Manoj Tiwari from North East, Pravesh Verma from West Delhi and Ramesh Bidhuri from South.

Lok Sabha Polls 2019 has already begun and over 180 Lok Sabha Seat has already voted in initial two phases. General Elections 2019 would spread on Seven Phases starting from April 11 to May 19.

Counting of Votes and Results for the mega Battle of ballots will be announced on May 23 four days after the 7th phase of voting. In 2014 General Elections, banking of heavy Modi wave, BJP won all 7 seats in the national capital.

BJP in Delhi will be taking on Aam Aadmi Party and Congress.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here