The Indian Wire » Politics » BS Yeddyurappa set to become 25th CM of Karnataka; oath-taking ceremony today at 6 pm

BS Yeddyurappa set to become 25th CM of Karnataka; oath-taking ceremony today at 6 pm

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) leader BS Yeddyurappa is all set to become the 25th Chief Minister of Karnataka three days almost Congress-JDS coalition government collapsed after facing defeat in the trust vote in Assembly.

Talking to media after meeting Governor, BY Yeddyurappa said, ‘I just met Governor Vajubhai Vala and will taking oath today at 6 pm’. BS Yeddyurappa will have the time till July 31 to prove his majority in the House.

He also submitted a letter to the Governor claiming a stake to form his government. In his letter to Governor Vajubhai Vala, BJP leader said that he is a leader of BJP legislature party. He added, “the strength of the BJP MLA is 105 and the single largest party in the assembly… I may be invited to form alternate government today itself and I will take oath as Chief Minister of Karnataka at Raj Bhavan between 6 pm to 6:15 pm.”

It should be noted after state polls in 2018, BJP leader BS Yeddyurappa stormed his way to the Top Post but had to resign a week later after his party failed to garnish support to prove majority. Following which the HD Kumaraswamy led Congress-JDS came to power, that too could only survive for 13 months.

Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy led coalition government on Tuesday fell after it suffered a defeat in the floor test of the assembly.

“Chief Minister Kumaraswamy has lost the floor test, as 99 votes were in favor of the confidence motion and 105 against it,” Assembly Speaker K.R. Ramesh Kumar told the members of the House after the trust vote.

With 20 MLAs defying the party whip and were absent for the floor test, the strength of the 225-member Karnataka Assembly was reduced to 204 with 103 as the halfway mark for a simple majority.

The quick turn of events in the political circles of the state begun early this month with the resignation of 11 MLAs of Congress and Janata Dal (Secular). As the crisis deepens, Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy had on July 18 announced to hold a trust vote in the Assembly.


Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!