Lok Sabha Polls 2019: BSP Supremo Mayawati alleges BJP of bribing voters in Varanasi

Lucknow, May 17: BSP President Mayawati on Friday alleged that Prime Minister Narendra Modi‘s men were bribing and threatening voters in Varanasi and questioned why the Election Commission is not keeping an eye on his Lok Sabha constituency like in West Bengal.

In a tweet, Mayawati claimed that “outsiders” were camping in Varanasi and luring and threatening people to vote for Modi.

“How can free and fair elections be held in Varanasi if efforts are being made to ensure Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s victory? The voters are being first lured and then threatened. Why is the Election Commission not keeping an eye here like it is doing in West Bengal?” she said.

The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) leader has been continuously attacking the BJP and Modi for not fulfilling the promises made in 2014 and has even made personal attacks on the Prime Minister.

She has even positioned herself as a Prime Ministerial candidate and said that while Modi was ‘unfit’, she was ‘fit to be Prime Minister.

READ: Lok Sabha Polls 2019: BJP launches ‘Knock the door’ campaign for PM Modi in Varanasi

In Varanasi Lok Sabha Seat, PM Narendra Modi is seeking his second term. He is up against Ajay Rai of Indian National Congress. While Shalini Yadav has been named by BSPSP after the nomination of the Former BSF Jawan Tej Bahadur Yadav got rejected by the Poll Official citing incomplete information.

Modi had in 2014 General elections defeated AAP’Arvind Kejriwal with over 3.80 Lakh votes. Prior to Narendra Modi, BJP Senior Leader Murli Manohar Joshi represented the Varanasi Seat since 2009-2014.

Varanasi Lok Sabha Seat will go to polls on May 19, four days before counting.

13 Lok Sabha seats of UP including Maharajganj, Gorakhpur, Kushi Nagar, Deoria, Bansgaon, Ghosi, Salempur, Ballia, Ghazipur, Chandauli, Varanasi, Mirzapur, Robertsganj will go to polls on May 19 along with Varanasi.

General Elections 2019 is being held across seven phases starting April 11 to May 19. Counting of the votes will be held on May 23. Voting of the remaining 59 constituencies will be held in last and seventh phase slated for May 19.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here