The Indian Wire » Politics » Lok Sabha Elections 2019: After UP, MP & Uttarakhand, BSP-SP Announce to go ‘together’ in Maharashtra
News Politics

Lok Sabha Elections 2019: After UP, MP & Uttarakhand, BSP-SP Announce to go ‘together’ in Maharashtra

After finalizing alliance terms in three states – Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh and Uttarakhand, the Samajwadi Party (SP) and the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) on Tuesday take the poll pact to the fourth state by announcing to contest jointly in all 48 Lok Sabha seats in Maharashtra.

Samajwadi Party Leader Abu Asim Azmi claimed that both SP-BSP tie-up provided a third option for the People and represent about “85-90 per cent” of the society. He further claimed that the SP-BSP alliance is strong enough to stop the BJP and the saffron party will be reduced to 5-7 seats.

However, he said that seat-sharing arrangement in the state is yet to begin and the Coordination Committee has been set-up to do so. The formula would be announced in two to three days, he added.

While Bahujan Samaj Party leader Ashok Siddharth hailing the Alliance said SP-BSP will ensure these policies reach the common man. He further said that the BSP Supremo Mayawati will hold a massive Public rally in Nagpur on April 5. ‘Our Party would request SP chief Akhilesh Yadav to be a part of it’, Ashok added.

READ: After UP, BSP-SP Announce Alliance in Madhya Pradesh, Uttarakhand for Lok Sabha Polls 2019

The BSP-SP alliance will take on the BJPShiv Sena and CongressNCP Alliance on all 48 Lok Sabha Seats of the state, second highest after Uttar Pradesh.

The Poll Tie-up in Maharashtra is fourth alliance by both Samajwadi Party and Bahujan Samaj Party. Earlier In Uttar Pradesh, both parties have entered a pre-poll tie-up with BSP contesting on 38, SP on 37 while ally partner RLD bags 3 Seats for the General Elections 2019.

While, In Uttarakhand which 5 Lok Sabha seats, Samajwadi Party will have its candidates on a single seat of Pauri Garhwal. While four seats will be contested by Bahujan Samaj Party. Both Parties in Madhya Pradesh have come to an agreement that SP will have its Candidates on three seats while BSP on rest. Madhya Pradesh has a total of 29 Lok Sabha Seats.

BSP has also forged an alliance with Pawan Kalyan‘s Jana Sena Party in Andhra Pradesh and Telangana. Recently, BSP Boss Mayawati Opted Out of Lok Sabha Poll race saying that she wants to gear up the poll pedal for Mahagathbandan in Uttar Pradesh.

General Elections are slated for April-May this year that would spread on Seven Phases starting from April 11 to May 19. Election Commission had on Sunday declared schedule for General Elections 2019.

The Counting of votes for the mega battle of ballots will take place on May 23, four days after last round of polling.


Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!