ABP-CVoter Survey: BSP-SP alliance could hit BJP’s chances of return to power in 2019

Akhilesh and Mayawati

According to a survey conducted by ABP News- C Voter, if the Samajwadi PartyBahujan Samaj Party forms a pre-poll alliance in a run-up to Lok Sabha Elections 2019, the BJP led NDA will suffer a huge loss to its seat tally. The SP-BSP altogether in Uttar Pradesh will be victorious on whopping 50 seats and the NDA will reduce to 28 seats, with a loss of 43 seats compared to 2014, if Lok Sabha elections were held today claims survey.

The MayawatiAkhilesh Yadav combine can also alter the NDA’s poll calculation for 2019 Lok Sabha elections. In case there is no SP-BSP Grand Alliance or ‘Mahagathbandhan’ in Uttar Pradesh, the NDA will come to power with 291 seats, 19 more than required in 543 member Lok Sabha. But if the alliance between the two works out, NDA will be reduced to 247 seats in the 543-member Lok Sabha, 25 short of a clear majority.

It may be recalled that the SP and the Congress had joined hands in Uttar Pradesh assembly elections 2017, but the alliance failed miserably to take on the BJP. However, Reportedly both the major forces of the State – Samajwadi Party and Bahujan Samaj Party has tied up for the Lok Sabha Polls 2019. If reports to be believed, The BSP-SP coalition has kept congress away in Uttar Pradesh. As per seat sharing deal, BSP will file its candidates on 38 while SP on 37, with RLD on 3 considering Jat voters in west part of the state.

BJP to big win in Odisha 

ABP News-C Voter ‘Desh ka Mood’ survey predicted that Narendra Modi-led BJP is likely to win big in Odisha in the 2019 general elections. According to the survey, the saffron party is likely to win a majority of the Lok Sabha seats in Odisha and push the ruling Naveen Patnaik‘s Biju Janta Dal to the second spot.

The BJP is set to win big in Odisha with 16 out of 21 seats while Naveen Patnaik’s regional force BJD will be reduced to only six seats, the survey has found.

In Lok Sabha 2014 Election, BJD bagged 20 seats out of 21 while one seat was won by Saffron Party. Congress could not open its tally in the state.

NDA set to sweep Bihar with 35 seats

According to ABP News survey, the BJP-led alliance will perform better in Bihar and win more seats in 2019 in comparison to 2014 elections.

The NDA is slated to sweep Bihar with 35 seats, four more than it secured in 2014. The Congress-led UPA, which includes Lalu Prasad Yadav’s RJD, Upendra Kushwaha‘s RLSP and Jitan Manjhi’s HAM, will get only five seats.

The BJP in 2014 Lok Sabha Elections won 22 seats while its allies the LJP and the RLSP won six and three seats respectively. The NDA has now been bolstered by the presence of the JDU, which fought against it in the last polls.

The BJP led alliance in Bihar has recently announced a seat-sharing deal. Both the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and the Janta Dal(United) will contest 17 seats in Bihar. The remaining 6 seats will be contested by Lok Janshakti Party (LJP). Also LJP leader Ram Vilas Paswan will not contest the General Elections scheduled in April-May. He might, in turn, get a nomination in Rajya Sabha.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here