Lok Sabha Polls 2019: BSP Supremo Mayawati slams BJP, Congress at Delhi rally

New Delhi, May 10: BSP President Mayawati took on both Prime Minister Narendra Modi as well as the Congress on Friday as she campaigned in the Lok Sabha elections for the BSP candidates in Delhi.

Accusing Modi of failing to work for the weaker sections, she told an election rally in Dilshad Garden area: “Chowkidari won’t save the ‘chowkidar’.”

The former Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister added: “This time Modi must be told that after the failed policies of his government, his ‘Chowkidar’ tactic will fall flat after the results are announced on May 23.”

READ: Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Samajwadi Party extends support to 5 BSP Candidates, 2 AAP in Delhi

Mayawati alleged that like the previous governments at the Centre, the Modi government had also disappointed the SC and ST communities and other weaker sections.

The present government has failed to meet even a fourth of the promises made by Modi, she said.

Mayawati also blamed Congress for the problems of the Dalits and minorities.

“After independence, they were in power at the Centre and in most states but still the grand old party failed to provide proper legal rights to the SC/ST communities.”

She accused India’s first Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru of ignoring B.R. Ambedkar’s advice to take strict action so the SC and ST communities can get their legal due.

She also criticized the Congress’ promised Nyay scheme and said that if her party leads the government at the Centre, she will ensure that people from weaker sections get permanent jobs and not just Rs 6,000 a month.

Mayawati claimed that the Congress was in a bad shape in Uttar Pradesh but the BJP was in a far worse condition. She alleged that the state government had used the government machinery to stop the BSP-SP alliance from winning.

BSP in the national capital is contesting on 5 Lok Sabha Seats. BSP has named Rajvir Singh from Delhi North East, Sanjay Gehlot from East Delhi Seat, Sita Sharan from Delhi West. While the party named Siddhant Gautam from South Delhi and Shahid Ali from Chandni Chowk parliamentary seat.

The Bahujan Samaj Party has been contesting assembly elections in Delhi since 1993 but it was only in 2003 that the party had fielded candidates from all 70 assembly seats.

After 2003, the party has named its candidates on all 70 seats. The party had in 2008 won two assembly seats in the national capital. The party since 2004 has been contesting Parliamentary Elections. However, the party has never won a seat in Delhi.

BSP in the Delhi will pose a threat to BJP, Congress and AAP in the mega polls 2019.

Lok Sabha Polls 2019 has already begun and is being held across Seven Phases starting from April 11 to May 19. Counting of Votes and Results for the mega Battle of ballots will be announced on May 23 four days after the 7th phase of voting.

All 7 Lok Sabha seats of the national capital will poll on May 12.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here